Apple Charlotte

apple-charlotte-0012

Just when I thought I knew every apple recipe out there, I happened upon Paula Deen making this dessert the other day.  She made it in her fireplace, really old-fashioned, and it made me think that it would be the perfect ending to Pioneer Week (even though it was a little late).  My mom picked the last of the apples left in the orchard the other day and dropped some off, so I used a couple to make the Apple Charlotte.  The apples are huge, orangey-red Ida Reds, which are tart and good for baking.  I skipped the mace and baked it in the oven at 350°F for 1 hour, because I despise crunchy apples in my desserts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living

Leave a Reply

