Seven Years

Seven years ago tonight Ed and I went out on our second-first date.  Our first date was about six months earlier and then we just went on with our lives, but we reunited on November 30.  It was a double date, thanks to my friend Jessica, a.k.a. Green Mamma, agreeing to tag along with me.  What are good friends for?

We went to dinner and a movie, and I remember Ed dozing off during the movie.  The details are a little blurry, but he dropped me off at home and we had our first kiss in my driveway, next to the apartment that my dad was building for me over the garage.  Little did I know then that the apartment would become our home for the next five years.

Even though we don’t celebrate this anniversary anymore, since we have the official wedding anniversary in June, I still like to stop and think about our date.

Two weeks after that dinner and a movie, I remember telling Jessica that Ed was the man I was going to marry.  I don’t know how I knew, but apparently it was love at second sight.

11-30-2008-063054pm

Ed and Abbie, December 26, 2001

7 Comments

Filed under Home

7 responses to “Seven Years

  1. How is it possible that I never heard this story before???

  2. Rob

    SOmetimes it takes a second look!

  3. Marie

    And the rest is history, as they say!! funny how things work out!
    xoxoxo

  4. Aww! I remember you told me you were at a place in your life where you were most attracted to a man who shared your values; I am so happy that you found the love of your life in Ed, and I’m glad that I could join you guys for your second first date. =)

  5. What a sweet story!🙂 It sounds like you guys were meant to be together. My husband and I went out “as friends” for quite a few months while we were both dating other people before I finally realized that he was the best guy around and I was wasting my time with other people. Sometimes things aren’t as obvious as you would expect! Anyway, I couldn’t be happier with how things worked out and it sounds like you are the same way. Congrats on your great relationship!

  6. Abbie, you’ve been given an award! Pop over to my blog and see what it is.

Leave a Reply

