Garlic Knots

garlic-knots-002

I’ve been making my own pizza dough for a while now, and homemade pizza is a favorite in our house.  Since the dough is so easy to make and I’ve been wanting to make my own bread, I’ve turned it into focaccia a few times by spreading olive oil, salt and herbs over it and baking it that way.  But I recently realized that those garlic knots I love at Italian restaurants can easily be made using pizza dough! 

I tried it with white dough, so that’s the recipe I’m posting.  If you want to try whole wheat garlic knots, here’s my recipe for whole wheat pizza dough.  I’m sure that you could also use store-bought pizza dough to make these quickly, too.

Garlic Knots

  • scant 2 Tbsp active dry yeast (2 packages)
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cup warm water
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup bread flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • sea salt to taste

Combine yeast, honey, 2 Tbsp olive oil and warm water and let sit for 5 minutes.  Combine flours and salt and add in water mixture.  Knead together for 15 minutes and then let rise in a covered bowl for about 1 hour.  Mince garlic or grate and mix in remaining olive oil and set aside. 

Punch down the dough and knead briefly, then split in half.  Save half of the dough for pizza, focaccia or garlic knots on another night (it can be frozen).  Take a small piece of the dough, roll it into a “snake” and tie in a loose knot.  Let rise 30 minutes, then brush with the garlic oil and sprinkle with sea salt to taste.  Bake at 350°F for 12-15 minutes until slightly browned.  Serve hot.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

2 responses to “Garlic Knots

  1. Oooh! We love homemade pizza too (although Matt is our designated pizza maker =)). I will definitely pass this post along to him.

  2. Those sound delicious – and easy enough for my 3yo to help with! Wonder if you could up the garlic???

Leave a Reply

