Christmas Pumpkins and Gourds

My pumpkins and gourds have lasted this long, serving as decorations for Halloween and Thanksgiving.  They still looked so nice that I didn’t want to just toss them on the compost pile.  Instead, I painted them and now they can be a part of my Christmas decor as well.

christmas-gourds-001

Santa gourds inspired by some of Mom Marie’s ornaments.  I hope these gourds will dry instead of rot, but I can always try again next year if needed.

christmas-gourds-002

Barn red gourds with golden stars for the gourds that weren’t the right shape for Santas.

christmas-gourds-003

Jack-be-littles painted gold with red glitter become pretty enough to be Christmas decorations.  I love the long stems on these little pumpkins.

christmas-gourds-006

A festive bowl filled with gourds will make a great little display on the coffee table.  This hand-painted bowl was a wedding present, and on the rim it reads “Abigail and Ed were nestled all snug in their bed while visions of sugar plums danced in their heads.  And they heard him exclaim ‘fore he drove out of sight “Happy Christmas to all and to all a Goodnight!”

dudley-farm-christmas-fair-020

Finally, the big pumpkin that sat beside our door for the past two months was too big and round to throw away.  I love “Cinderell’s coach” shaped pumpkins with thick green stems.  I painted a Santa face on him and popped a hat on top, and now he’ll be able to keep his spot on the porch.

What are some of your ideas for Christmas crafts?

5 Comments

Filed under Home, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Christmas Pumpkins and Gourds

  1. Those are so cool! What a great idea. I haven’t done much yet this year for Christmas decorations – I guess I should get to it! I’ll have to save my pumpkins & gourds next year and try this.

  2. How cute! I especially like the elegant, gold, jack-be-littles! You’re so clever. These would also make great gifts and tree ornaments! What a great way to recycle Halloween and Thanksgiving decorations!

  3. Love the Santa gourd idea. We tried to save one last year (not Santa, my son drew a jack-o-lantern on it) but it eventually got crushed. As your home is not filled with rowdy boys so you should be ok.

  4. This is such a cute idea! Just out of curiosity, what kind of paint did you use?

  5. I used regular craft paint.

    After I made these, I found painted gourds for sale on Local Harvest, so I guess I could charge for these if I wanted to!!!

Leave a Reply

