Snowy Sunday

Sunday Stroll

Overnight, we got our first real snow for this winter.  It’s a damp, sticky kind of snow that clings to the trees, making them beautifully white.  The wildlife around out home really sticks out now.  Ed woke up in the middle of the night and spotted a buck digging up the snow and eating clover from our lawn.  He called me over to the window and we watched for a little while before going back to sleep.  I spotted a hawk sitting in the snowy trees this morning, and just as I was about to snap a picture, another hawk flew by and he followed her.  I can’t help but wonder if one of them is the hawk that I saw snatch up a baby turkey last spring.

A walk to the mailbox revealed that the roads were bare, so that’s good news for everyone worried about travel.  We’ll probably stay home most of the day, but maybe venture out to get our Christmas tree.  I love the snow, but I’m happy it’s on a Sunday, not a school day.  Although I enjoy snow days during the winter, I regret them in June.

sticky-snow-002

sticky-snow-005

sticky-snow-011

sticky-snow-013

To see who else is strolling today, visit the Quiet Country House.

2 Comments

Filed under Home, Outside

2 responses to “Snowy Sunday

  1. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Doesn’t the snow make you feel like a kid again? I just LOVE it!

  2. Isn’t it pretty? Your house looks like a Christmas card in the snow. Very “Currier and Ives.” Thank you for sharing your first snow!

Leave a Reply

