A Look in Our Freezer

christmas-tree-006When we bought a new freezer this fall, I was worried that it was way too big and we’d never fill it, even though the freezer of our refrigerator was full with veggies, homemade stock, and fruit waiting to be baked into pies.  In the last two months, we’ve filled it up the new freezer quite a bit. 

We have fish that Ed and his brother Chris caught over the summer.  We both love blackfish, and that’s mostly what’s in the freezer.

We have 3/4 of a pig.  We just got back the smoked hams, bacon and sausage, in addition to the pork chops, roasts, ribs and tenderloin.

We have 1/8 of a cow (we split 1/4 with Chris and Melissa).  Lots of ground beef and some roasts and steaks are just waiting to be thawed and cooked.  We just got the beef from Ed’s cousin John and his wife Kris.  They moved from Ed’s hometown to upstate NY to try to make a go at raising beef.  Ed and I are really happy that we got the beef from them because now we know where more of our food is coming from and we’ve gotten away from industrial beef.  Not to mention the fact that we’re supporting a small family farm.

In the future, we hope to be able to get even more of our food locally.  My family and our garden are able to supply almost all of the produce we need.  Ed and I are also planning to plant some fruit trees in the spring.  Ed’s family is planning to get more pigs next year and add turkeys into the mix.  Ed and I are even discussing getting some laying hens someday when we build our barn.  I’m not a big fan of chickens, but I do like eggs.  We’d also like to build a small greenhouse off of our barn for me to start seedlings and grow even more fresh veggies all year.  We can dream, right?

I’d love to hear about changes you’ve made (or traditions you’ve continued) to eat locally.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Home, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “A Look in Our Freezer

  1. I bought a pressure canner because the freezer filled too quickly. We crunched the numbers and decided, at least for what we needed, the canner would be a better investment than a freezer that would need to be powered. (I don’t eat meat, it was mostly soups I was freezing).

    Now that I can use the pressure canner it’s an addiction and I love it! Any time we have an over abundance of local veggies, I just make up a big pot of soup and can it. We never have waste! Yeah!

    We also started growing our own garden. It’s small now, but we’ll be expanding VERY soon!

  2. I’m jealous – our freezer is just as full but not nearly as organized! It looks like you’re set for the winter. I’ve yet to try pressure canning like Heather so most of what is in our freezer is meat. If you eat potato chips (one of the few processed foods we still buy) you can also freeze unopened bags of them and they stay fresh much longer. I try to can everything I can to save on space, e.g. almost all of our fruit is canned instead of frozen.

Leave a Reply

