Is it time to garden yet?

christmas-day-2008-038

Am I the only one who’s spent the last couple of days thumbing through seed catalogs, making lists, and looking at the calendar? After getting a gift certificate to Johnny’s Selected Seeds from Ed’s parents, a homemade garden hod from Melissa and Rich, an ecological calendar from Kate, a Farmer’s Almanac Calendar from Marie, and a new camera from my parents so I can document it all, I can’t wait for spring!

Now my mind is spinning with thoughts of starting seeds, getting apple trees, and extending the growing season as much as possible.  Ed and I have even been tossing around the idea of getting a few laying hens and building a coop by the woods.  We’ve got quite a long winter to go through before any of these ideas can be realized.

What plans for spring are you making?

7 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Outside, Sustainable Living

7 responses to “Is it time to garden yet?

  1. Nope, you’re not the only one. With all that new cedar I got for Christmas, I’ve been daydreaming of all the new plants I can put in for the spring. Just have to start making beds as soon as we get home from California.

  2. Gosh, I don’t think I ever got the seed catalog dream garden going until at least January!

  3. OMG, with a projected temp of 60 today, it feels like spring already! Just when I was settling in to enjoy winter as I’m one of those fools that loves snow! I’m still hoping for a good old-fashioned winter before planting season . . .

    LOVE the garden hod/basket! Absolutely beautiful! Ab—I’ll let you be my inspiration for garden planning as I head to the Northeast Kingdom to play with the boys in the snow, as all we have here is rain!

    Glad to see you back in the bloggy world; thought we had lost you to the Christmas season!

  4. You’re not alone! I’m there too. Someone posted, I think it was Sharon Astyk, about a possible seed shortage in the future and it reminded me that last year a lot of the seeds I wanted were sold out. I’ve already sorted through what I have left and made a list of what to order. Nature is playing a means trick: all our weeks’ worth of snow has melted, it was near 60 yesterday, and I can see my garden again!

  5. I’ve got all my seed catalogs packed up for a weekend away. Yup, that’s how I intend to spend it. Our growing season just ended so I’m actually get a nice little break but I am thinking about what to put in my now lawnless front yard and where I could stash some laying hens.

  6. Rob

    I can hardly wait for spring. Got most of my seeds already, and I got a gift certificate from Martin to purchase my Columnar Apple trees! Now if I can talk Raintree Nursery into delivering the tree’s to the flower and garden show(since they will be there- saves me a trip to Morton, WA) this year it will be a truly succesful gift. LOL, they sais shouldn’t be a problem but call first!

  7. Shannon

    I hope you aim the chickens toward the “screaming” dogs house and not ours….just kidding! Great Idea!!!! I will take 2 eggs every sunday morning, Dave wants 2 also!!

Leave a Reply

