A Year of Local Food

Just for fun, here are some images related to local food throughout 2008.  I didn’t start this blog until March, so that’s where the pictures begin.  It’s a fun look back through the cycle of the year.  All of this food was either grown in our garden or on my family’s farm, or raised/caught by Ed and his family.

March

pear-crumble-006.jpg

Starting seeds in our dining area.

April

food-012.jpg

Nurturing our seedlings.

May

Transplanting seedlings to our garden.

June

 

The first fruit of this summer.

Clams caught by Ed and his brother Chris.

Our lettuce patch.

July

Catching blackfish on the fourth of July.

Wild wineberries picked by me and my mom.

Butter and sugar corn from my family’s farm.

Mom Marie’s fresh blueberry pie.

August

Clear blue skies and a bright yellow sunflower.

Sunflowers attracted all the pollinators to our garden.

Tomatoes, basil and lettuce from our garden.

Corn, peaches, raspberries and apples from my family’s farm.

Peach, raspberry and blueberry fruit salad.

September

My prize-winning butternut squash pie.

A pumpkin from our garden.

Apples and pears from my family’s farm.

October

Pumpkin from my family’s farm.

Shiny empire apples picked fresh from the farm.

November

pigs-016

Pork for our freezer raised by Ed’s family.

December

december-harvest-007

Carrots from our garden.

dudley-farm-christmas-fair-020

Santa pumpkin.

I hope 2009 is just as beautiful!

8 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

8 responses to “A Year of Local Food

  1. Good inspiration to get busy and start planting this year. Thanks Abbie. Beautiful photos.

  2. Rob

    Great picks- makes me want to get started now- (patience my ass I wanna grow something)

  3. GB- Thanks!

    Rob- Me, too! I can’t wait for spring.

    CC- Now I’m dreaming about raspberries and peaches.

  4. Abbie~what a beautiful month-by-month tour of delicious, nutritious, local food! Thanks for sharing! It’s fun to see all that good stuff on the bleakest, coldest days of winter!

  5. So…incredibly…hungry…

  6. What a great photo calendar of your garden! Mmm, those carrots do look yummy! I’m perusing seed catalogues… and having a difficult time limiting myself!

  7. Thank you for sharing your wonderful year of photos! I must admit, I stole your santa pumpkin idea for my own leftover gourds — we painted ours green and added silver stars. I posted about them briefly on my eco-blog: http://tinyurl.com/473x4d

    Thanks for the continued inspiration!

Leave a Reply

