Brrrrr!

Freeze Yer Buns Challenge 2008

We’re doing really well with the Freeze Yer Buns challenge this winter.  I pledged to keep the furnace set at 55 when we’re not home and 60 when we are home, and supplement our heat with the wood stove.  So far, we’ve been keeping our pledge.  We keep the zones we are in set at 60, and the others at 55 when we’re home, and set our bedroom at 55 when we sleep.  The only tough part is getting out of our nice warm bed in the morning! Our hope was mostly to save money on heating oil, but we also wanted to reduce our dependence on foreign oil and be eco-friendly.  It’s felt pretty chilly in our house, but we’ve been bundling up, keeping the fire going, and we’ve been okay.  We’ve adjusted, because now when we go to other people’s warm houses, we feel hot.  But that doesn’t mean we don’t want spring to come soon!!!

fire-005

We’re so happy for the warm wood stove! Of course, that means the warmest part of the house is in the basement.  I’m hoping that Ed will hang a clothesline for me there.  While I like using my dryer and only need to do about 2-3 loads of laundry a week, it would be nice to hang sheets, blankets and towels to dry there.  I’ve also been bringing bowls of rising dough down to the basement, and I’m ready to move our bed there for the winter.  But I don’t think that’s going to happen!

4 Comments

Filed under Home, Sustainable Living

4 responses to “Brrrrr!

  1. I know what you mean about being hot at other people’s houses. I was very overdressed on the holidays and sweated my butt off at my grandparents. I guess I forgot that so many people keep their heat at 70+. I even get a little stuffy in all that warm air, I guess you get used to the cooler temps.

    Our house came with a clothesline in the basement and I love it! I use that in the winter and the outside one in summer – I can’t remember the last time I had to use the dryer.

  2. Nice work. I’m sure having the wood burning stove helps. If I were you, I’d be moving into the basement🙂

    Sending warm thoughts your way…

  3. We’ve been freezing our buns off too this winter, although I guess that has more to do with not liking a stuffy and warm house. Over the holidays we visited my mom who is heating her home with a pellet stove. What this means is that the great room where the heater is feels warm, as does the rest of her first floor. Upstairs though, the temps are cooler. Her solution? She layered sheets, blankets and more blankets on the beds so that everyone can be nice and cozy at night.

    Also, we use a clothes rack in our home, but I do remember my father insisting when I was growing up that we hang the clothes on the line to save energy (but as someone mentioned in the comments on another post, I am pretty sure his objective was to save money).

  4. Jena- That happens to me at work, too. I bundle up for the drive in, then by the time I get up to the third floor, I’m sweating!

    CC- If we didn’t have the wood stove, I don’t think we’d be participating!

    Jessica- I’ve certainly appreciated layering lots of blankets on the bed this year!

Leave a Reply

