Morning Glory Seeds

dormant-and-saving-seeds-014

Believe it or not, I’ve already gotten started on the seed saving aspect of the Growing Challenge.  While snapping pictures of dormant perennials for the Sunday Stroll yesterday, I decided to pick off some of the morning glory seed pods to save for planting next year.  Our morning glories were so abundant, vibrant and beautifully blue, so I’m very happy to have saved the seeds for next year.  I kept meaning to get them in the fall, but repeatedly forgot.  I’m going to pop them open and pick out the seeds, but couldn’t do that with my gloves on outside!  If you’re going to save morning glory seeds, be careful that you store them in a safe place because they are poisonous if ingested. 

morning-glories

Last summer’s morning glories

4 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Outside, Sustainable Living

4 responses to “Morning Glory Seeds

  1. Rob

    Stop spreading morning glories! I had a naeighbor plant those damn things on the fence line and now cannot get rid of them!

  2. How nice it will be to replicate the blue beauties you had last year!

  3. Rob- but aren’t they beautiful???

    Mom- I agree!

  4. Those are lovely, I’ve never seen blue ones before. In the Pacific Northwest morning glories are considered noxious weeds. We’ve been in a pitted battle against them for some time now. Every time I think we’ve won, more pop up. It is a little funny to me to think of saving the seeds, I’ll admit it!🙂

Leave a Reply

