Green Garlic Dipping Oil

green garlic dipping oil

One of our favorite restaurants to visit with our close friends Alicia and Vinny always serves their bread and garlic knots with an herbed, garlicky dipping oil.  We all like it so much that we end up asking for more, and we’re practically full by the time the meal arrives. 

I’ve already perfected their garlic knots, but now I decided to try to replicate the dipping oil.  Last time we visited the restaurant, I paid attention to the ingredients: garlic, green onions, cilantro, olive oil.  I asked the waitress what was in there, and she revealed an ingredient I didn’t detect: lime juice.  My version came pretty close, even though I substituted parsley for the cilantro.  Next time we have Alicia and Vinny over for supper, I’m going to surprise them with garlic knots and this green garlic dipping oil.

  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 green onions (scallions), sliced diagonally
  • 1 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley or cilantro
  • juice of half a lime
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • pinch of salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients and let the flavors blend in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.  Let come to room temperature before serving with a baguette or garlic knots.  Make sure everyone eats it, so you all will have garlic breath.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Green Garlic Dipping Oil

  1. Mmm I can’t wait to try this one, and those garlic knots. I think I could have garlic everyday and never get tired of it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Yum! This looks delicious. We have a similar recipe for a Greek Garlic Dip which tastes great when prepared with locally grown field garlic. Check it out!

  3. munch munch- party at abbies..munch munch

  4. ooooooh, i can feel my butt getting bigger already!

  5. Hmmm… this sounds so tasty. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

Leave a Reply

