Me and my Valentine

Here’s a little meme I stole from Dooce.  If you want to steal it, by all means go for it.

Me and My Valentine

What are your middle names?
My given middle name is Susan after my great-grandmother on my Mom’s side, but I changed it to Rose (my maiden name) when we got married.  Ed’s middle name is Richard, after his Dad.

How long have you been together?
Over 7 years.  Our 5 year wedding anniversary is coming up in June. 

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
We first met when we were really little.  My parents have a picture of him at my christening.  So, I guess about 20 years?

Who asked whom out?
Ed asked me out after seeing my Dad and getting my number from my Uncle Dave because they were working on the same house at the time.

How old are each of you?
I’m 27 and Ed’s 29. 

Whose siblings do you see the most?
Ed sees his brother almost every day at work, but my brothers come over here the most.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Nothing’s really hard right now, but me going to school on weeknights is tough.  I’d much rather be home.

Did you go to the same school?
Nope.  We went to different high schools, and I went (and still go) to SCSU, and Ed didn’t go to college. 

Are you from the same home town?
Nope, we’re from neighboring towns, though.

Who is smarter?
Haha! I’m more book smart, but Ed’s much smarter about building and making things.  I love school, but Ed… not so much.

Who is the most sensitive?
Me.  I’m a crier.  But Ed’s sensitive, too.  (He cried at our wedding and I didn’t… didn’t want to mess up my makeup.)

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
Westbrook Lobster about once every couple of months.  We just went there tonight!

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Which is farther from CT: Alaska or the Bahamas?

Who has the worst temper?
Probably Ed, but it’s not that bad.  We’re not really the kind of people with tempers. 

Who does the cooking?
Me.  One time like 6 years ago, Ed made me pancakes.  Another time like a few weeks ago, he made scrambled eggs and remarked how hard it is to make supper.

Who is the neat-freak?
Ed hates clutter but doesn’t mind dust.  I hate dust but don’t mind clutter.  Therefore our house is alternately cluttered but clean, or dusty but uncluttered.

Who is more stubborn?
Ed is very resistant to change, but I like to get my own way.

Who hogs the bed?
Ed! Besides being a sleepwalker, he rolls up in the covers burrito-style.  And I’ll often wake up smooshed under half his body with his pillow pushing mine off the bed.  I want twin beds.

Who wakes up earlier?
Ed.  He also falls asleep way earlier.

Where was your first date? Chowder Pot.

Who is more jealous?
I think we both are pretty jealous.  Fortunately, neither of us has a reason to be jealous.

How long did it take to get serious?
After our first date, I wasn’t ready to date Ed.  I didn’t even call him back for 6 months.  After I finally did, I decided in 2 weeks that I wanted to marry him.

Who eats more?
Ed.  He has “double dinners.”

Who does the laundry?
Back when we lived on the farm, we both did our own laundry.  Somehow when we moved here, I started doing all the laundry.  How did that happen?

Who’s better with the computer?
Definitely me. 

Who drives when you are together?
Ed usually drives.  I like to be chauffeured.

(Adding my own) Include a wedding picture or a picture from your early dating days!

Feel free to answer any of these questions in the comments or on your own blog (leave a link so we can read it!).

8 Comments

Filed under Home

8 responses to “Me and my Valentine

  1. Ruth

    I absolutely LOVE that photo of you two Valentines! If I remember correctly, the music you were dancing to was “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy!” and lucky for Ed, you do!

    Love to you both!!!

    From: Ed’s favorite mother-in-law!

  2. Ruth

    It’s true that Ed was at your christening party; then you didn’t meet up again until MUCH later. If we could have arranged this pairing, we would have, but you did it on your own–and we were delighted!

  3. Ooo…I’m going to do this minus the picture.

  4. Ok, Abbie, you talked me into it. I “stole” your Valentines meme, so cute!

    Check it out at:

    http://everydaywomanusa.wordpress.com/2009/02/21/valentines-meme/

    Love you,
    Mom

  5. Jon

    mom… maybe you should let someone else comment.

  6. This one looks fun, I’ll do it for sure. Here’s a weird thing for you: I changed my middle name to Rose when I got married too because that was my maiden name! There will be no more Roses in my family because there were no male grandchildren, so I thought this could be my little way of carrying on the name. I knew we had a lot in common but this is a little much.🙂

  7. JENA! I bet we’re related.

    As I left on your blog, you’ve gotta come up here and visit this branch of the Rose family someday when you and Brian can get away.

    There are plenty of male Roses around here to carry on the name, and all the girls have Rose as a middle name (if it’s not their last name).

  8. i loved this post and did write my own, and sadly had no appropriate blog to post it, and so it ended up on the newest one, that has almost no readership.
    http://eatingwithzombies.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/me-valentine-and-me/

Leave a Reply

