28

I really can’t believe that I’m 28.  I graduated from high school 10 years ago? I’ve been driving for 12 years? How did that happen?!?!

Ed and I have a running joke that my birthday lasts for a week.  I think it comes from my grandfather:  his mother always said his birthday was one date, while the birth certificate said a different date.  As a result, he liked to celebrate for a whole week, just in case.

Over the weekend, we celebrated with my parents and brothers.  My mom told me that the theme for my presents this year was that they were useful.  She picked out a few reusable bags, a new stainless steel water bottle, some reusable produce bags, some of my favorite farmer’s market cheese and honey, an organic gardening workshop, and a couple of cute tops that I will wear once the weather warms up.  My favorite gift from my parents was sea glass earings and a necklace.  My mom made this jewelry from real white sea glass.  I love sea glass, and I think turning it into jewelry or using it for decorations is a wonderful way to take trash, pollution even, and turn it into something beautiful.

sea-glass-jewelry-001

Yesterday, on my real birthday, I had a really good, but busy, day.  I got into school and found a message from a colleague.  Apparently, I’ve been selected for an award from our local League of Women Voters (of which she’s president) for being an environmental leader.  I’ll be sure to write more about that in a future post.  What a nice way to start the day!  A couple of students had baked brownies and muffins for my birthday, and shared them with the class.  About a month ago, these girls asked when my birthday was, and when I told them, they must have written it down.  It was a very nice surprise.

I was annoyed to have to go to my class at night, but as usual I found it enjoyable.  I was just tired by the time I finally got home.  Fortunately, Ed picked up supper from a local seafood place.  While they’re kind of expensive, we love their food and like the friendliness of the owners/family.  It was so nice to come home from class and have supper waiting, plus I didn’t have to clean up.

Ed and I have a tradition with presents: we like them to be meaningful and useful.  A few weeks ago, when Ed asked what I wanted for my birthday, I immediately said apple trees.  We had been planning for a while to get apple trees, but this was the perfect excuse to go ahead and order them.  Since I grew up on an apple orchard and I’m very opinionated when it comes to apples, I took charge and selected the varieties that I thought would serve our purposes.  We selected six trees, and plan to plant them between our house and our closest neighbor.  Our house will help to protect them from the wind, and we’ll be able to block the view of the neighbor’s house for three seasons when the trees mature.  I can just imagine how pretty the blossoms will be next spring! I selected Macouns, which are my absolute favorite apple for fresh eating, Empire, Jonathan, Snow Apple, Northern Spy, and Orange Pippin.  These apples allow for fresh eating, applesauce, baking apples, storage apples, and will ensure that we have different varieties ripening at different times.

And that’s not all… the celebration will continue this weekend with Ed’s family.

Finally, I’d like to thank everyone for all the birthday wishes yesterday! For the lurkers out there, it was nice to meet you and I hope you’ll feel free to comment more often.  I love the interaction that the blog allows, and I’m really feeling at home in this online community.

9 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Sustainable Living

9 responses to “28

  1. You are kind of like your late grandfather with a good, weeklong birthday! Pa would be so proud of you!

    I knew you would be mad at me if I just bought you “useless” stuff, so I was trying to think “mindfully.” I’m SO delighted that you like the seaglass jewelry!

    It was so much fun to read everyone’s message yesterday and to hear that some of these responders know each other!

    Happy day, young lady!

  2. LOL I have been driving longer than you have been around! And I would have graduated longer than you have been around too!
    I am going to order my apple trees tomorrow too (a christmas present)

  3. Your new jewelry is beautiful. It looks like a great set that will go with anything. As far as a week long birthday, you could always try what my cousin does. She claims to have a whole “birthday season”! It is kind of a running joke now. Anyway, I’m glad you’re having a great, and extended, birthday!

  4. Sounds like my kind of birthday! Your family seems awesome. I love your mom, she is so sweet.

  5. Hi again Abbie! You had asked me in a previous post about my hobby farm. We have lived here since 2003 and have loved every minute of it! We used to have chickens but had to move away for a year, so gave them away. We have raised beef cattle in the past but now we rent our field out to a local farmer who puts his pregnant females here for the summer and fall. Each fall we get to experience the birth of a few calves. It’s wonderful!
    In this part of California, it is all about orchards! They grow walnuts, almonds and prunes here. We have two apricot trees, a grapefruit tree, mandarin orange tree, lemon tree and lime tree. I have squeezed many a grapefruit and made some delicious juice. The apricots make nice pies or crisps. The mandarin orange, lime and lemon trees are too young right now to produce any fruit. We have also grown pumpkins, which is my favorite!
    My 14 year old daughter loves horses and takes care of neighbors’ horses, mules and donkeys while they are away.
    Well, I think that’s all I have to tell you about our farm! I do still miss Connecticut (my family still lives there), so I enjoy reading your blog and am very glad I found it.🙂

  6. Awww… happy, happy birthday!

  7. Happy Day Abs! From me and Annabelle, =)

  8. Happy Belated Birthday! That jewelry is very nice. Your mom’s good!

  9. Happy belated birthday, Abbie! I love the celebrating for a week tradition you inherited from your grandfather, and the sea glass jewelry your Mom made is absolutely gorgeous.

    I haven’t been online much lately, but I always save your posts in my feeder to catch up when I can. I actually came over today to see if you were gearing up for Project Budburst. They’ve got the 2009 reporting set up, with some great new features, and results from 2008. I’m definitely getting excited for spring.

Leave a Reply

