New Beginnings

Sunday Stroll

stroll-new-beginning-001

If you look carefully, you can see the raspberries that we planted outside of the garden fence.  While we do have deer in our yard a lot, I’m not that worried about them eating the raspberries because of the thorns.  It’s the birds I know will get to the raspberries, whether they’re in a fence or not, so we put them outside to save room for the veggies inside.

stroll-new-beginning-010

Here’s a picture of the garden where I planted seeds yesterday.  It just looks like sticks for now, but I can imagine the lettuce and peas already.

stroll-new-beginning-011

The spring breeze kept the wind chimes playing throughout the day.  It was nice to listen to them as I planted seeds and any time I went outside.

stroll-new-beginning-014

The bleeding hearts in the back flower garden are starting to make their appearance.  These white bleeding hearts do very well in the back of the house, thanks to the shade in the afternoon.

On a related note, I’ve added a new Garden page, where you can see what’s in our garden currently and when it was planted.  I hope to add many more plants to the list and some pictures as the growing season goes on. 

To see who else is strolling today, visit the Quiet Country House.

6 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Outside, Sustainable Living

6 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. I can’t wait to check out your garden page. Sometimes I wish you had a “Dear Farmers Daughter” page so that I could ask this or that question (thank goodness you stop by my blog now and again and read about my gardening troubles, lol). Anyway, I too planted peas and lettuce, though a few weeks back. So far, nothing! I am thinking I need to go back and reseed or rake or do something.

    I can’t wait to see more of what you’re growing this season.

  2. Abbie, I love seeing your gardening endeavors. It makes me eager to begin my own! I’m mailing may seed orders out this coming week, and soon my kitchen and dining room will have to function as a green house. Who knows… maybe someday I’ll have an actual green house, but in the meantime the sun that comes through our many windows usually does the trick!

    I put in raspberries too… last year or the year before… but so far they look like nothing but dead wood. The blueberries look a little better, but I think the deer are eating all the lilac buds. I need some netting to drape over a few more vulnerable plants for this time of yaer. We do feed the deer (and wild turkeys) dried corn, but they are ready for fresh fat buds by this time of year.

    Thank you for sharing your stroll! Great photos! Great inspiration!

  3. Things will be blossoming soon, for sure! You’re going to LOVE those raspberries . . . close enough to walk out and pick a handful for morning breakfast!

    Can’t wait to check out your garden page!

  4. I love the sound of the wind chimes in my yard. The birds are calling to one another. The slight breeze stirs the chimes. I smell the bridal wreath and azalea bushes behind me. I sit in the wicker chair and daydream.
    Brenda

  5. I want to grow raspberries but always forget to plant them. If blackberries are anything to go by, they should do well here. My friends grow them successfully but never can tell me what variety they’ve got.

    I especially love that windchime photo!

  6. Tia

    Which part of the country do you live in? Its still too early for us to plant here. At least, I think it is…hmmm. This will only be the 2nd year we have had a garden. My sister and I plant at her place as she has the space. I am hoping to do some container gardening at my townhome for fresh herbs and tomatoes at least.

    Your pictures are lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

