Belated Blogiversary

Last night, as I was looking back through my old posts here for inspiration for a post for the new Rose Orchards Farm Market blog, I realized something… March 24 was the 1 year blogiversary of Farmer’s Daughter!

As it turns out, I was busy on March 24 this year accepting an award for environmental leadership, so it makes sense that the blogiversary slipped my mind.  It was a great way to celebrate the occasion!

I was inspired to start this blog by my good friend Jessica, who writes Green Mamma.  At the time, I sent out an email about the upcoming green fashion show at school, and Jessica replied to me that she’d like to interview the coordinator, my student Kayla, on Green Mamma.  I started reading through Jessica’s articles and I was hooked.  I’ve always loved to write, and I decided to give blogging a try.

I started Farmer’s Daughter as a way to chronicle what we were doing at home.  My husband Ed and I had just gotten settled in our home, and I was adjusting to the free time I had since there was a lot less work to do around here.  When we were building, we’d spend so much time here on nights and weekends, not to mention that I was working on my first MS degree at the time, oh and teaching full time, too!  It was a crazy schedule, but I found that I was bored when it was all over.  Writing this blog has been a wonderful way for me to explore living sustainably, gardening, cooking, and my local food system.  I’ve gotten more involved in the community, picked up some crazy ideas, participated in challenges, and made some friends. 

Here are a few of my most memorable posts from the last year. 

Clear blue skies and a bright yellow sunflower.

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing this journey with me!

Abbie

10 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

10 responses to “Belated Blogiversary

  1. Congrats! You know I love your blog. I think I’ve given up magazines for blogs. You are like my crunchy Martha Stewart who really knows how to work on a farm (the way I see it, Martha has paid help . . . whereas you do it all yourself).

  2. Happy Bloggiverasry Abbie on the East coast (where the water is on the wrong side)-Rob

  3. I saw that one of your posts were why you love quilts. I have made many. And I have made many crazy quilt projects from used clothing like mens suits and ties and old prom dresses I’d buy at garage sales. I don’t like the real fancy ones, just the plain ones that you use everyday. A simple pattern did me just fine. Some I just started without thinking about where it would take me or how I’d finish it. It was the journey that became so utterly important. I went to quilting bees. And I worked many problems out in my head as I covered the patchwork with stitches. It was both therapeutic and meditative.
    Brenda

  4. Happy Bloggiversary! Thanks for sharing your journey with us.🙂

  5. Happy Blogiversary, Abbie!

    Thanks for all you’ve shared on your blog; for reminding me of some of your most memorable posts; and for inspiring me in so many ways!

  6. Congratulations! What a great week of celebrations! I didn’t realize your blog was so new. You have so much good information to offer, I’m so glad you started it. How else would I have “met” you!?

  7. Happy Blogiversary! May you have many more posts!🙂

  8. Abbie I have always enjoyed reading your blog. Congratulations on it’s one year blogiversary!

    On another note, I saw this ad on Cute Overload, laughed and then was sort in shock after reading more and of course had to share with you. I’m not sure if you’ve heard of it, but it’s for Cyclone Dairy…dairy products made only with cloned cows. I especially love in the FAQ section where someone asks if there are any ethical issues about cloning, and they simply answer “No.” I also read on the site that no special labeling is required to sell cloned milk and I’m sure there is a lot out there…but I just thought it was strange how this company is so proud of selling it. http://www.cyclonedairy.com/

  9. Thanks, everyone!

    Kayla- That’s really wierd. I remember a year or so ago when the big debate was about cloned animals for meat. Since I’ve been following cloning since the beginning, I’m concerned about the welfare of the animals. Cloning has a long track record of producing animals with a shorter lifespan and a higher chance of genetic abnormailities. While I’m not anti-cloning and I believe that there are some very good things that could come from cloning, I worry that consumers are not informed. I would personally not want to drink milk from cloned cows because I don’t see a reason to clone them, the regular ones give milk just fine. It seems like an example of complicating something for no reason. Do they give any indication why cloned cows are being used? They must give higher yields, that’s all I can think of. I’ll have to check out the link, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

