Food Budget Update and Cheesy Scrambled Eggs

As far as the Sustainable Food Budget Challenge goes, we’re failing.  Last weekend, I spent 137.20 at the grocery store and farmer’s market.  Today, I spent 167.70, which brings the grocery total to 304.90, out of the $323.00 allowed for the month.  Remember, I went into this challenge knowing we wouldn’t make it, but I’m doing this as an exploration rather than an achievable goal.

The bill was a little higher today because we’re having my brothers over for supper tonight, plus having my family over for a quick breakfast tomorrow before heading off to Ed’s side for lunch.  My mom’s bringing a lot for breakfast, so I didn’t have to get that much.  I also bought more of items that were on sale: cereal, canned tomatoes, granola bars. 

Since I’ll make scrambled eggs tomorrow and I love to make eggs for breakfast or supper, I’ll share my scrambled eggs recipe.  It’s easy, fast, and budget-friendly.

Cheesy Scrambled Eggs

  • 6 eggs (or 2-3 eggs per person)
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar or monterrey jack cheese (adjust according to number of people)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbsp butter

Preheat a pan over low heat.  Beat the eggs with salt and pepper.  Melt the butter in the pan, turning the pan to coat.  Pour in the eggs and add the cheese.  Cook over the lowest heat setting, stirring constantly, until cooked as desired.  Ed likes his runny and I like mine well cooked, so I remove some for him while mine finish cooking.  Serve hot.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Home, Living from Scratch, Sustainable Living

3 responses to “Food Budget Update and Cheesy Scrambled Eggs

  1. Lucy

    Farmers Daughter,

    I enjoy you blog, and just wanted to respectfully ask you if you have considered eating less meat? You posted a menu, not too long ago, and every meal centered around meat. While I am certainly not urging you to become a vegetarian by any stretch, perhaps a bit less meat? Your wallet and the environment would surely benefit.

    -Lucy

  2. Lucy- I respect your opinion, and I certainly understand the environmental benefits of eating less meat. In fact, I usually only eat meat at supper.

    We’ve spent the last year moving toward sustainable sources of meat. We raise our own pigs and will now also raise turkeys. My husband fishes for our seafood. His cousin raises beef and we’ve got 1/4 cow from him in our freezer. The only meat we have yet to find a local, sustainable source for is chicken, so that’s the only meat I buy at the store. The rest is in our freezer right now, so it doesn’t contribute to our weekly grocery bill.

    I’m not willing to reduce our meat intake any further, first because we enjoy meat and have worked hard for the sustainably, humanely raised meat we have. Also, I believe that the meat we raise is much better for the environment than packaged meat-like products made of genetically modified soy grown in monoculture, the kind of products I see many vegetarians eat. (Yes, I know not all vegetarians eat that way, but the ones I know do).

    Perhaps I should write a post about our meat choices. It’s something we have talked about a lot, and it’s something that I realize now I haven’t written about in depth here. In my ideal life, I would have a diary cow, chickens, raise bees, and also raise all the meat we eat, a cow to split with others and a pig for the year. The only part that I can transfer into reality right now is the chickens for the eggs, and we plan to get some soon!

    So the answer I guess is yes, we have thought about our meat choices, but no, we’re not going to reduce them because they come from a minimum number of animals (since we use many different cuts) that were for the most part raised by us or family in a humane, sustainable way. Thanks for bringing this up, and I’ll get to work on a post about our choices!

    -Abbie

  3. That’s incredible, Abbie, what you’ve accomplished with growing meat. I only recently started to try to eat sustainably, so I have a long way to go, and I am simply trying to limit meat consumption until we start getting meat here through a co-op (hopefully next month, cross your fingers!).

    What I really wanted to comment about was the scrambled eggs. I discovered that by breaking the yolks in the pan, the dish comes out incredible. Like no eggs you’ve ever had before.

    http://adventuresineatingrealfood.blogspot.com/2009/03/day-13-eggs-pizza-chicken.html

Leave a Reply

