Amending the Soil

Yesterday’s sunny afternoon allowed us to get in some work on the vegetable garden.  One corner was planted a while back, but the rest of it needed to get cleaned up, weeded, and blended with composted manure.

cows-out-037

Ed turns up the soil, carefully avoiding the area I’ve already planted (while I reminded him repeatedly).

cows-out-038

Nathaniel was kind enough to bring the manure from Ed’s parents’ house to our house in his truck.  He traded the trucking for a haircut, and I was happy to trade.

cows-out-050

Then he helped out by shoveling the manure into a wheelbarrow with Ed and the boys took turns carting it into the garden.

cows-out-045

I took a turn carting the heavy manure into the garden when Jonathan came to visit (in the Mustang in the background) and offered to take a picture of me. 

cows-out-047

Oops! The wheelbarrow dumped to the side, but it landed in the garden so I still consider it a success.  After that, the boys wouldn’t let me cart it anymore, and I was happy to go back to my role as photographer.

cows-out-057

Some of the manure remains in the driveway, waiting to be added to the flower gardens later in the week.  How do you amend your soil?

5 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Outside, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Amending the Soil

  1. Great pix, Abbie! I was wondering if you were just posing with the full wheelbarrow or what . . .

    The guys on the farm are busy spreading good ‘ole natural horse manure on the fields . . . and I believe they also add lime and nitrogen as needed.

    It’s also important to rotate the crops, so I think sweet corn will now go into the pumpkin/goose squash field right near our house in the apple orchard.

    Happy gardening!

  2. ctdaffodil

    Wow – I’m jealous….what a great looking pile of composted horsey stuff. We are behind on our garden – hopefully this sunday the weather will cooperate and we can get it at least tilled…

  3. Looks pretty nice! Us girls put in plenty of work at other times, that’s good that the guys helped out.

    We amend our garden with composted animal bedding and composted hay. We have two big piles of it that Brian stirs occasionally with the skid steer. I also use wood ash and plan to use some organic blood meal this year. I’ll be pH testing parts of the garden for the first time this year to see where we’re at. I don’t worry so much about the vegetables but I want my berries to do well since they’re most expensive.

  4. Hi!
    I stumbled across your blog a few days ago – and I’m very jealous of your garden! I was wondering – how much effort did it take to put that fence up? I’m involved in building a children’s garden here in Michigan and we have a big groundhog problem. We can’t seem to find a fence that’s both attractive and useful, how did you do it? I especially like the wood along the top.

    Thanks,
    Celia

  5. Lucky girl! I make my own compost (I have chickens!) but it is the height of luxury to have a load of compost from a local farm delivered.

Leave a Reply

