Strawberry Rhubarb Pie with Lattice Crust

strawberry rhubarb pie 010

  • 1 quart strawberries, hulled and chopped into large pieces
  • 3-4 big stalks of rhubarb, sliced
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 heaping Tbsp cornstarch
  • dough for 2-crusted pie
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp sugar

Combine strawberries, rhubarb, sugar and cornstarch in a bowl.  Line a pie pan with one crust, then roll out the second crust and slice it into 1-inch strips.  I find a pizza cutter works well for this task.  Pour the filling into the bottom crust, then lay out the top crust.  It looks impressive, but it’s easy to weave the crust.  Just start in the middle with a long strip and work your way out.  Trim and tuck in the ends, then crimp the edges.  Beat the egg and brush it onto the crust, then sprinkle with sugar.  I usually don’t like an egg wash on pies, but I think it adds a nice shimmer to the lattice top.  Bake at 350°F for 60-70 minutes until the filling is bubbly and the crust is browned.  It’s a good idea to place it on a baking sheet to catch any bubbled-over filling.

17 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes

17 responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie with Lattice Crust

  1. Lol, this is perfect timing because I am getting my first batch of rhubarb from a friend tomorrow! I don’t think I’ll be trying this recipe though… when I announced the arrival of the rhubarb Brian stuck his tongue out and said he doesn’t even like rhubarb in pie, never mind any other way. He must have forgotten about all those rhubarb muffins he ate last year. I’ll share that recipe some time, the muffins are addicting!

  2. Abbie, that is gorgeous! It is definitely rhubarb season.

  3. Yum, yum! Things must be better in your hectic schedule if you turned out this masterpiece! Again, lucky Ed!!!

  4. Aunt Sara

    are you bringing me a piece??? Just kidding, it looks better in the photo than it would on my waist line.

  5. What a beautiful pie! Can I stop on over for dessert tonight?

  6. I can’t make a pie crust, let alone weave one. It looks great!

    I did used to make a beautiful stuffed bread where the top was braided over the stuffing. I wonder where that recipe is hiding – it was really good.

  7. MMMM YUm! I know what you had for breakfast the next day😉

    What a gorgeous pie — that would last two seconds in my house.

  8. How pretty! My gram used to make strawberry rhubarb pies for me because they are my favorite. She used tapioca as a thickener, which was added fun for a kid. 🙂

  9. I have a question for you since your family has all those fruit trees… should I be worried since the pear tree I planted last year appears to have no intention of blossoming this year? The Bartlett that I planted this spring has tons of white blossoms. The one from last year is a Harrow or Harold or something like that. It is growing very well with tons of green leaves but no sign of blossoms. I’m a little disappointed since I was hoping to cross pollinate them like you suggested. Any thoughts? I’d really appreciate your opinion! I did google it but couldn’t find a very good answer online.

  10. Awww, sob! My mom used to make that EXACT pie with rhubarb from our backyard when I was little. Mmmmmmmm!

  11. It’s absolutely beautiful! YUM. drool drool

  12. Tracie

    I just made this pie yesterday for my grandfather and he said it was delicious. It was so easy and quick to make. I thought the lattice crust would be difficult, but it was actually very simple and really made the pie look beautiful!

  13. I was wondering if I needed to peel the ruhbarb???

Leave a Reply

