The Best Strawberry Shortcake

It’s strawberry season! I was so excited to see “native” (a.k.a. “local”) strawberries at my family’s farm market today!  We celebrated with strawberry shortcake tonight. 

salad and shortcake 007

There are three components to strawberry shortcake: strawberries, biscuits, and whipped cream.  This recipe serves 4, and can be easily modified for any number of people.

Strawberries

  • In-season strawberries from your area are the best.  Mash a quart early in the day, at least a few hours before you want to make shortcakes, with a few tablespoons of sugar or honey.  Cover and let them sit at room temperature so the juices collect.

Biscuits

  • Today, I used the fresh-baked biscuits from my family’s farm market, but if you want to make your own, try my baking powder biscuits or buttermilk biscuits.  I keep telling myself that someday I’ll try shortcakes made with raspberry-cranberry scones.
  • When you’re ready to make the shortcakes, slice four biscuits in half.  Spread them with butter, then sprinkle with a pinch of sugar.  Place them in a frying pan, butter-side down, and toast them over a medium-low flame.

Whipped Cream

  • You can whip the cream while the biscuits toast.  Combine 1 cup cream, 1 Tbsp sugar and a few drops of vanilla extract in a bowl.  Beat with a hand mixer or by hand with a whisk until soft peaks form. 

To assemble the shortcakes:

  • Place the bottom of the toasted biscuit in a bowl. 
  • Spoon on some strawberries, then some whipped cream.
  • Add the top of the biscuit.
  • Spoon on more berries, then more whipped cream.

This is my favorite summer dessert! What’s yours?

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes

9 responses to “The Best Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Yum! I never thought of “toasting” the biscuits as you do! I usually just warm them in the microwave or oven. I’m sure your way is much tastier! Nothing like native berries!

  2. lailablogs

    This looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  3. Wow, do these look good. I didn’t know you were supposed to toast the biscuits either. Now I really can’t wait for our local berries to show up.

  4. ctdaffodil

    is it time to pick strawberrys in CT yet???
    I remember as a child spending a june day picking TONS of berries and then for dinner strawberry shortcake – those pictures remind me to do that with my kids….

  5. girl, my kids would give me the stink eye if i only used a tablespoon or two of sugar in the berries OR the whipped cream!!

    we are just about at the tail end of strawberry season here. i think we may get another two or three weeks….. hopefully, i managed to pick enough to make it past march this year:)

  6. Oh my, this looks so good. Thanks for yet another great recipe. I’m just going to pitch my cookbook and use all your ideas instead. 😉

    I can’t wait for the first strawberries here. The plants have their flowers out right now so it won’t be long. We won’t have enough from our little patch but I usually go with my Mom and my sister to our favorite U-pick. Sounds like fun!

  7. Rob

    GMTA- I made starwberry shortcake today too! I used angel food cake- I sugared the strawberries last night (as my grandma used to say) I put a cup od sugar on two puonds of sliced strawberries and let them sit over night- the juice from the berries mixes with sugar to make a great sauce- Works with any berrie. Just ladle over a slice of angel food cake and top- also how she froze strawberries for later

  8. You sure are on a cooking kick, huh? We just picked strawberries over the weekend; Annabelle was more than pleased with her father’s shortcake recipe, which I believe calls for all 5 lbs. of the sugar bag,🙂

Leave a Reply

