Meet the Parents

Read about our Second Date first, if you missed it!

Our Love Story, Part II

Ed met my parents on our first date, months before our second date when I decided I really liked him.  In fact, he met my whole family then.  Ed was driving his brand new truck to come take me out, and my brothers Jonathan (then in high school) and Nathaniel (who was 12) couldn’t hold back from going to see the truck.  A brand new, F-350 extended cab, diesel pick-up truck.  It was hunter green with tan details.  They loved it.

When Ed drove up the driveway that June day, my dad, brothers and mom raced out to meet him.  I had wanted to make an entrance, but instead walked out of the sliding glass door to see that nobody was paying attention to me after I spent an hour getting ready.

“He’s here for me!” I announced.  I should have been happy that my family had taken to him already, but I was annoyed.  He talked to my dad for a little while, and our muddy Old English Sheepdog started heading in the direction of his new, clean truck with the open doors. 

Seeing the impending disaster, my mom shouted “Eddie, get away from that truck!”  Ed looked confused.  After all, it was his truck.  He hadn’t yet met Eddie.  Once my mom explained that she was yelling at the dog, not Ed, we all laughed. 

Months later, when I was in love with Ed (though I hadn’t told him yet)  I was nervous about meeting his parents.  I vaguely remembered Ed’s parents.  Our families were friends when we were little, but daily life caused them to drift apart.  I remember Ed’s mom when she was a judge of baked goods at the Guilford Fair.  I remember Ed’s dad coming over to the farm when we were raising pigs.  However, those were the only memories that I really had, and I was nervous about meeting them again.  I enjoyed the time spent with Ed over the next week or so, knowing I’d get to meet his parents soon.

On the phone, Ed and I had taken to telling each other “I miss you.”  Really, we didn’t even have time to miss each other.  As a college student who lived at home, I had nothing but time to spend with him at night.  I called him at noon each day, during his lunch break, to talk to him.  He always ended the conversation with “I miss you.”

Finally, I met Ed’s mom Marie.  His dad was in Long Island for a few days for their stair business, so she had us over and made salmon for dinner.  I had never really eaten salmon before, and it was delicious.  Ed’s mom is really a fantastic cook.  At this point, Ed’s brother Chris lived in New Jersey and his sister Kate lived in Colorado, so it was just the three of us.  I don’t remember exactly what we talked about, but I remember having a good time.  At one point, Ed realized he had a salmon bone in his mouth, and he later told me he thought it would be rude to spit it into a napkin (how I wish he tried not to be rude NOW).  Instead, he decided to swallow the bone, and promptly began choking on it.  He coughed and coughed, and eventually ran to the back door and hacked it up.  Much better than spitting it into a napkin.  I remember Marie and I just laughed and laughed.  It was funny because he tried so hard to have good manners but the whole thing backfired.  I would later learn that laughing at him was not good for my karma.

A few days later, I met Ed’s dad Rich.  He is a lot like my dad, in that he’s a builder and values the old-fashioned way to do things.  I talked to him about making maple syrup and my one distrous attempt to make maple sugar candy (the bubbling syrup boiled over and burned on my mom’s flat cooktop because, while I needed a bathroom break, the syrup did not).  He told me that he had perfected the maple sugar candy method and would show me.  A week or so later, Rich and I made maple sugar candy together and had a really good time. 

On the way home that night, Ed told me he was so happy that I had connected with both of his parents.  We didn’t go straight to my house, instead Ed took me to my town’s center, which contained the Dairy Queen where he picked me up for our second date.  He pulled into a spot at the post office.  Not quite romantic, but better than having my brother Nathaniel run out to show Ed his latest lego creation as soon as we pulled into the driveway. 

“You know how I say ‘I miss you’ all the time?” he asked.

“Yes…”

“Well, what I really mean is I love you.”

“I love you, too, Ed.”

4 Comments

Filed under Home

4 responses to “Meet the Parents

  1. Jena

    Aww, how romantic…you’re good at this stuff!🙂 It is really sweet to think back to the early days, especially now when we’re all so busy and stressed, or at least Brian & I are. I love the spontaneity that always comes with a new relationship. I remember telling Brian that I was excited to see where we were at in a couple years because it is always good in the beginning so you never know what you really have until later. Well, a couple years later we were getting engaged!

    The salmon bone cracks me up!! I can only imagine how funny it must have been in the moment. The funniest thing that happened to us early on occurred the first time we actually made out. We were making out leaning on the front bumper of Brian’s truck in the parking lot of my apartment complex. I had to go somewhere so he finally left. For some reason my car battery was dead so I had to call him and ask him to come back and jump me. I was still really nervous and felt so dumb having him do that. Then he came back and we had to make out a little more before I finally got to leave! Fun times!🙂

  2. Aww! You guys are so cute it should be illegal.🙂

  3. Rob

    Sugar police! Whaddya trying to do – kill me with all this sweetness? Does this mean Ed’s name is Gaylord Fokker? J/K BTW

  4. mamabuckwheat

    Okay so you’ve been married 7 years now! Where he said what I really mean is I love you. I gasped outloud. Tooo cute! On to read the next part…

Leave a Reply

