Hydrangeas

Sunday Stroll

hydrangeas 007

My favorite flowers are in bloom!  These “Endless Summer” hydrangeas are in our front flower garden.

hydrangeas 018

hydrangeas 025

hydrangeas 016

hydrangeas 027

I’ve also got a trio of hydrangeas in the back flower garden.  The lace cap has abundant flowers this year.

hydrangeas 029

I also planted white and pink hydrangeas in the back garden in fall ’07.  Neither bloomed last summer, and I’ve forgotten if this one is the pink or white.  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see, and enjoy the lime green buds for now.

To see who else is strolling today, visit the Quiet Country House.

6 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Outside

6 responses to “Hydrangeas

  1. Oh my gosh, Abbie, these are my all-time favorite flowers, too! Nothing beats the true blue of your beautiful hydrangeas! I do hope they are indeed “Endless Summer,” and give you the pleasure of their prolific flowers all summer long!

  2. My, my aren’t they pretty. That vivid blue is outstanding.
    Thanks for the chance to see them. I look forward to seeing the pink.

  3. Jenny

    I am jealous! Could you tell me what kind of sunlight conditions your hydrangeas get? Just gorgeous, bet they look nice in a vase on your table! Also, how often do you water? thanks!

    • Jenny- The blue mopheads in our front garden get afternoon full sun (from noon to sunset). It gets pretty hot there, so in the summer we’ll water them about once a day, at night. However, this year we’ve had a ton of rain and I havent’ watered them at all so far.

      The back hydrangeas only get morning full sun (until noon) and the lace cap is doing great there, but the mop heads don’t have a lot of blooms.

  4. Ah, what a perfect blue!

  5. Aha! So, that’s what those things in my front yard are. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

