Annabelle’s foal!

It’s a girl! When my dad went up to feed Annabelle this morning, he spotted extra little legs under the fence.  Annabelle had given birth overnight, cleaned the baby, buried the afterbirth, and both of them are happy and healthy.  I woke up this morning to a call from my mom that the baby had arrived!  Needless to say, I grabbed my camera and jumped in the car to see her.

annabelle's baby 125

She’s a spotted draft, just like her dad.

annabelle's baby 112

I can’t quite imagine how she ever fit in Annabelle’s belly.

annabelle's baby 103

Duke wanted to go in the pen, but it’s best if he stays away for now.

annabelle's baby 085

We were surprised by how clean both of them were.  Annabelle is proving to be a great mom.  She’s protective but will allow us to go in the pen and even briefly pet the filly.  Her fur is so soft!

annabelle's baby 073

So, it’s time for us to think of a name.  Options so far include Emma, Isabelle, Belle, and Bella.  We want their names to go together nicely.

annabelle's baby 057

Annabelle seems to know that we won’t hurt her baby, but we still want to give them quiet time alone.

annabelle's baby 120

Annabelle and her baby will move out to a separate pen by the farm market in a few days.  Until then, they have some privacy.

Don’t forget to visit Horse Tales for other posts about horses!

14 Comments

Filed under Local Agriculture

14 responses to “Annabelle’s foal!

  1. Marie

    She is beautiful, congratulations Annabelle!!

  2. Ooooohhhhh yay! Maybe this is a sign my little one will come soon! She is a beautiful mama, Annabelle is!

  3. Wow, she’s beautiful. Well done Annabelle! And if you’re taking votes on names mine is for Emma.🙂

    And I know what you mean about wondering how she fit inside. I often wonder the same thing about my own babies. Pregnancy and birth are sort of unbelievable if you think about it.

  4. Christiane

    Congratulations to Annabelle, the new little one and all the other proud folks and beasts (Dukie!) on the farm. I love that you are respecting their bonding time together.🙂

  5. Precious is my first thought. Aww, she’s so cute comes next. Babies are wonderful no matter what species they are. She and her Mama are going to be star attractions for some time to come. Congratulations to Annabelle, baby and extended family.

  6. Jenn

    She is beautiful! I can’t wait to stop by the farm to give her a pet. So cute!!

  7. What? No Cigar??? Cute foal though.

  8. jen Kusmierz

    Oh my what a wonderful addition! She is truly the “Belle” of the ball… you see my vote. LOL I am very happy for you guys enjoy her they grow sooo fast.

Leave a Reply

