Pie Crust Twists

This is the perfect way to use up leftover pie dough.  It’s not really the kind of recipe I measure…  You will need:

  • leftover pie dough, rolled out and cut into strips
  • about 1 tsp melted butter
  • a mixture of about 1 tsp sugar, a dash of cinnamon and a sprinkle of cardamom (in my mind, a dash is bigger than a sprinkle)

Twist each dough strip and lay them out on a sheet pan.  Brush with butter and sprinkle with sugar/spice mixture.  Bake at 375°(or whatever temperature you are baking the pie) for 8-12 minutes, until golden.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes

5 responses to “Pie Crust Twists

  1. I love the comparison of dash and sprinkle. It makes me smile.

    And these sound really yummy.🙂

  2. My mom used to do something similar but she just spread the leftover dough out flat. When it was done, she’d cut it into equal-sized pieces for all of us.

  3. Sounds yummy! I always like the crust better than the filling anyways!

  4. I’ve always made something similar. Instead of twisting them, I roll them into little cinnamon roll style shapes. Yummy!

  5. Rob

    Nom Nom Nom. My aunt used to do the flat version of these. Tasty.

Leave a Reply

