Three Horse Hitch

3 horse hitch

Bob, Bill, and Vinny

I took this picture 10 years ago when I was a senior in high school.  I was in a photography class, and we could only print black and white photos in our darkroom at school.  Now, I love that this photo is in black and white.

Bob and Duke were our first team, and you can read about when we got them in “Our First Team”.  Bob was heartbroken after his brother Duke died of a split intestine when I was a sophomore in high school.  We got Bill and Vinny, a new team, and my dad turned the wagon into a three horse hitch, so Bob could stroll along with them.  By this time, Bob was older, so he didn’t actually pull the wagon, but he was hitched to the other boys and got to feel like he was pulling.  Now that Bob’s gone, too, we’re back to a team of two.

But someday, when baby Isabelle is big enough, we plan to bring back the three horse hitch.

3 Comments

Filed under Local Agriculture

3 responses to “Three Horse Hitch

  1. An all-time great, three-horse team, don’t you think? I’m afraid Isabelle has some BIG shoes to fill, pun intended!

  2. Aw, this is a great picture and story too Abbie. I love that you’ve been able to spend time in a dark room . . . maybe someday when I am not pregnant and nursing I will take a film photog. class.

    Anyway, is Annabelle a candidate for the 3-horse hitch? If not, is there a reason that Isabelle is?

    • Good question! Annabelle was never trained to pull a wagon, and I’m afraid it’s a little too late to teach an old horse new tricks. We’re already starting to train Isabelle, and hitching her with the big boys will be a part of that training. We may breed Annabelle again in a couple years so Isabelle will have a teammate of her own.

Leave a Reply

