100,000 Hits

Farmer’s Daughter has officially had over 100,000 hits! I still find it kind of funny that people actually like to read what I write.  I’d like to thank everyone who stops by to visit, whether you comment or not!

hydrangeas 007

With the warm, sunny days and my grad class (which is almost over…) I’ve been kind of neglecting the blog and haven’t been able to post and take photos as much as I would like to lately.  My mind has just been elsewhere.

However, I’ve got some questions for those of you who stop by…

  • Why is it that you like to read my blog?
  • Is there anything you think I could improve upon or that you don’t like? I can take some constructive criticism.
  • Is there anything you’d like to see here that I haven’t included?
  • Do you have any questions for me? I’d be happy to answer any “reasonable” questions🙂

Finally, I’d like to say that I’m really happy to have found this blogging community with which to share my life.  I blog because I really enjoy writing, photography, and chronicling my everyday experiences.  But I also really love the friendships that I have made.  I would probably never meet most of you folks in real life, so I’m very happy that we all can connect online!

23 Comments

Filed under Home

23 responses to “100,000 Hits

  1. Congratulations on this major milestone, Abbie! Why would you be surprised that people like to read what you write? You have so many valuable things to share; a wonderful literary style; and a flair for photography!

    I can’t imagine life without blogging, now that I’ve been into it for a very quick year and I can’t imagine NOT reading your blog every day!

    Please keep up all the great things you’re doing, especially the animal stories; environmental concerns; love stories; recipes; local food ideas, etc., etc!

    We love you! Oh, and how true it is what you said about “meeting” new friends online. I’m quite convinced that you and Jena are long-lost cousins by your similar interests. . . . and how nice that those with similar passions can share that online!

  2. CONGRATS! JUST KEEP DOING THE GREAT JOB YOU ARE ALREADY DOING WITH YOUR BLOG!

  3. Yay Abbie! I am so happy you blog about your every day life; it is an inspiration for us all.

    Before and after I started reading your blog, you and your class is what has inspired so many of my life decisions. Becoming interested in eco-fashion? Becoming a vegetarian? Wanting to grow some of my own produce? Recycling? Investigating the ‘whys’ if I don’t know? I wouldn’t have cared about any of that stuff before taking APES.

    Anyways, I love the direction you’ve taken on your blog and the way you’ve focused on a few different things. I would love to see more ways to help the planet on a budget. That is, not necessarily buying better beauty products, household cleaners, etc., but by making them or recommending the best alternative!

    • Thanks, Kayla! You’re the kind of student that I love to teach!!!

      That’s a great idea about living sustainably on a budget. I’ve already got a bunch of ideas… since we’re trying to save $. Thanks!

  4. Hooray for 100,000 hits!

    As for why I come here, I like reading about local eating and farming. I’m living vicariously through you because while I do have a garden there’s only so much I can do in my suburban neighbourhood. I definitely couldn’t keep a horse, for example.🙂

    Oh, and I like to drool over your recipes.

    I can’t think of any improvements, questions, or enhancements. I like you just as you are.

    And I am endlessly grateful for online friendships, too. It is really sort of amazing to me.

  5. Congratulations! I love you blog for so many reasons. As a teacher, environmentalist and New Englander I can really identify with so much you say here. And fear not, you haven’t been neglecting your blog nearly as much as I have ignored mine. Keep up the great work!

  6. Congrats! What a nice milestone! I can completely understand why folks come back to read what you have to say, over and over again.

  7. Jena

    Your blog is definitely one of my favorites, and after thinking on it for a few minutes I can’t come up with anything I’d change. Your recipes are always easy and so good – I’ve definitely become a much better cook since reading here. Plus, you’ve inspired me to experiment with combining recipes and even coming up with some of my own. That alone would keep me coming back, not to mention all the great stories.

    My favorite thing of all is that you are down to earth and country at your roots. There is no condescending talk about people who use plastic bags or can’t buy organic lollipops. You have a good sense of when things are going too far and you’re a great role model in the aspect.

    Keep it up!🙂

  8. Yippee!! Keep all those delicious recipes coming. 🙂 Love your blog, Abbie.

  9. Melanie Snow

    Congrats! For me I enjoy reading your blog because it is like connecting to a world different from the lifestyle here in Atlanta. Plus I get a lot of inspiration from you as a teacher and a cook. I wouldn’t change a thing.

  10. Go, Abbie, go! It’ll be 1,000,000 in no time flat!

  11. Congrats Abbie! I have no suggestions to make; I like you (and your blog) for you. I come over here to learn a bit about the environment, see what’s cooking, and of course, to see you,🙂 Thank goodness for our blogs . . . I feel like I get to see you just about everyday even though we are 6 or 7 states apart.

  12. Hi Abbie,

    I’m new to your blog and love it because my hubs and I are hobby farmers. I have 2 horses, a garden, and a sweet little farmhouse on a few acres. I love to read your take on country life and life in general. I also love your mom’s blog as well.

    You do a great job of blogging. Keep up the good work!!

  13. Heather

    Congrats on 100,000 hits!

    I am new to your blog. I recently found it while doing a Google search for a Strawberry pie recipe. Once I stumbled upon your space, I was hooked! I especially love the cookbook section with photos. I usually have all of the ingredients on hand which is a huge help. Additionally, you have a great way of explaining the how-to’s of any given recipe…such as pie crust (It was delicious!).

    I also love hearing about farm life. Please keep blogging.

  14. Ann

    I occasionally dip into your blog to see what you are doing! I’m afraid I usually scroll quickly through the photographs since you seem to post a lot of the same event! But the best set of photos for me were the ones of the solar ovens your students created. We roasted a whole chicken in the solar oven the other day! They are really quite incredible.
    But (moving along) I like the recipes a lot, it is always great to have new ideas.
    Congratulations and please keep it up.

  15. Congrats!! And I say just keep doing what you are doing.🙂

  16. rob

    WOW! I thought I was doing good at 27000in a year and one half! LOL just goes to show ya a cute young teacher will beat up a crusty old plumber anytime! Congrats!

  17. Impressive, Abbie! I come to see your great pictures and a glimpse into life in an entirely different type of country than the desert. And to drool over your pretty pies…

  18. Congratulations on your success! We at Kitchen Caravan love reading about the different issues you face as a CT farmer. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

