Family

summer 09 699

Ed brought home these beautiful flowers from our sister-in-law’s garden for me today.  They got me thinking about our family and how lucky we are to live so close to so many of our loved ones.  Looking around my kitchen, I see the love of our family in every direction.  The kitchen (and whole house) was built with love by our dads and Ed.  A big shell bowl filled with garlic and lemons was a gift from my mom.  The pig cutting board that sits over the stove was a gift from Ed’s mom.  Cookie cutters from my great-grandmother sit in the drawer.  The cutting board I use every day was a gift from Ed’s sister.  Peaches and apples came from my family’s farm.  Bags of onions from Ed’s brother’s garden sit on the table, waiting for me to wash them.  Tomatoes from our garden ripen on the window sill, next to a moon snail shell from Ed’s brother.  Dish towels crocheted by our grandmothers sit on the counter.  Memories of using gadgets like a pasta machine, apple peeler, or potato ricer with my brothers come to mind.  Sitting around the kitchen table with family or friends, eating off my blue and white everyday china, laughing and talking.  These are what makes this house our home.

6 Comments

Filed under Home, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture

6 responses to “Family

  1. Beautiful! Simple pleasures are the best.

  2. I am teased that my favorite color is blue gingham. I also love sunflowers and black eyed susans. I think I would LOVE your kitchen!!!

  3. I feel so fortunate to have YOU nearby!!!

  4. Your words about your family makes me want to have my relatives nearby . . . and then I guess I find myself standing somewhere else . . . our family consists mostly of friends and sometimes I wonder if that is how it is for many folks who move away from home and find home anew in a city or metro place.

    But, in reading your writing what I thought about is how much heart is already in your home and how you and Ed will keep adding to that home in years to come; I can only think how lucky your children and grandchildren will be,🙂

  5. Dear Abbie,

    I LOVE keeping up with your farm life. It makes me so happy. I am here on an island in Maine, but for half the year I am a farm woman trapped in a town. I write a column for a farming magazine and my byline says that I am a farm girl at heart, which I am.

    Keep up your great, great work.

    Sharonlovejoy.blogspot.com (Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

  6. Hi!

    I think you’d be interested in following my blog, lineofserenity.wordpress.com.

    I just started it two days ago and will be blogging each day.

    I think I have one of the most loving families on the planet and have written a book (“Line of Serenity”) about the way we were raised. Check it out at http://www.goodshortbooks.com

Leave a Reply

