Charlotte’s Web

The room that will become the baby’s room is a blank slate.  I’ve thought quite a bit about how I’d like to decorate it.  At first, I was thinking about a pink and green garden theme for a girl, or a farm or nautical theme for a boy.

nursery 002

However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized I liked a farm theme.  Animals have always been a huge part of my life, and the thought of including my favorite animals in the nursery made me smile.  I’ve decided to include themes from Charlotte’s Web throughout the baby’s room, which will work for a boy or a girl. 

nursery 011

Charlotte’s Web was one of my favorite stories when I was growing up.  My mom used to read it to us during the summer at my grandmother’s pool.  We also had a video tape of the animated movie, and my brothers and I would watch and sing along with the songs.  Some of our favorite parts were when the goose tried to help spell terrific “T-double-E-double-R-double-I-double-F-double-I-double-C-C-C,” and when Templeton sang “A fair is a veritable schmorgasboard, orgasboard, orgasboard.” 

nursery 006

My mom dropped off her copy of Charlotte’s Web this morning, and I got so many ideas while flipping through the pages and looking at the pictures.  Ed’s mom has offered to paint murals on the wall, and I’m excited to include images like the ones from the book.  One neat idea is a picture of a web with the baby’s name in it.

nursery 009

When I think about the book, there are some themes that stand out to me.  I love the compassion that Fern shows when she rescues the runt.  I love the friendship that develops between Charlotte and Wilbur.  I love that Charlotte spins the words “Humble,” “Terrific,” and “Some Pig” into her web, and that the humans take the messages literally.  I also love that it shows the life cycles of animals, and that even though Charlotte dies at the end and it’s sad, her legacy continues with her children.

Do you have a favorite children’s book?

25 Comments

Filed under Home

25 responses to “Charlotte’s Web

  1. I think it is great that you are taking something most people find creepy (spiders) and are going to make what will be a wonderful room.

    It is even more wonderful that you are looking past the face value of the animals to the heart and character growth of the story.

    • One of my favorite classes in college was entomology lab, and although spiders aren’t insects, I understand the significance of all bugs. Besides, I figure then if a real web pops up here and there it won’t be so noticable🙂

  2. That is one of my very favorite books of all time. I’ve already read it to the kids twice. It is a lovely idea for a baby’s room and something that can stick with them as older children as well. Its so exciting planning and preparing for a baby. Have fun!

  3. I love the look of that room. There’s just something about wood floors, sunshine, and an alcove.

    I love Charlotte’s Web, although I can’t get through it without crying like a baby. I think it’s a great idea for a theme, and very appropriate for the child of the Farmer’s Daughter.

  4. ctdaffodil

    what a neat idea – Have you been to KidCity in Middletown? They will tell you the artist that carved the wood pig in the apple room (for little kids) You could have one on the wall near that window with a cosy reading chair…..
    He also did the sign for the Local Beet in Chester.

  5. Jena

    That’s a great idea. Very original, not the same old thing. Plus, like you said, it’ll be great for a boy or a girl!
    My favorite children’s story is Winnie the Pooh. I loved watching it as a kid. What can I say, I even named my horse Pooh Bear.🙂

  6. What a great idea for the nursery. I’m sure their will be lots of neat things you can do from that story. I loved Charlotte’s Web and all of the Beatrix Potter stories, especially Peter Rabbit.

  7. I love the idea. My mom did this with a book my sisters and I loved. She took the book into school and had copies of the pages made onto transparencies and borrowed a projector to easily get some of the images from the book onto the walls. Very cute!

  8. How cool! This was one of my favorites as well. I have a stuffed pig that I named Wilbert (couldn’t say Wilbur) when I was little.

  9. Oh my goodness, I LOVE it, Abbie!

    Because you and your brothers loved that story so much, it became my very favorite read-aloud to my third-graders, year after year. They even got to see their teacher read through tears in parts of it! When the movie came out a few years back, we had an optional field trip (on a Saturday) to the movies and the entire class came! What beautiful memories!

    I also remember reading it by the pool during the summer to you and your brothers. What a lovely theme for your baby’s room. It is a wonderful story of true friendship and values.

    I love the idea of weaving the baby’s name into the web. Good thing you have such a talented mother-in-law to create the mural!

    Lucky you! Lucky baby!

  10. I never read it as a child (long story there), but I’ve read it a number of times to my kids and I love it. I’m sure your kid(s) will too.

    My favorite children’s stories are the Winnie the Pooh stories by AA Milne. But not that watered down Disneyified Pooh crap they are passing off these days. The original stories are hilarious and sarcastic and generally fun to read.

  11. That is a gorgeous room. I’m jealous of your floors and natural light. Beautiful! Love the idea of decorating using Charlotte’s Web. Very original.🙂

  12. I LOVE this idea! Choosing a story was entirely too hard. Make way for Ducklings and Blueberries for Sal have always been favorites for me and I love reading them to my little brother and now Liam. I also love love love Beatrix Potter and we had talked about that as well… but I couldn’t choose just one story to theme the room.

    Charlotte’s web was also a huge favorite in my house growing up. In fact, I really liked the idea of the name Fern for a little girl, but the hubs shot it down!

    • I was thinking of your Curious George room mural. I loved the Francis books (what was she, a hedgehog?) but I wouldn’t put poor little ugly Fancis on the wall🙂

      We tossed around the names Fern or Charlotte for the little horse.

  13. I love the idea of a Charlotte’s Web theme. The characters in that story are dear childhood friends of mine, after all!

    My second child, a girl (now 16) had a farm themed baby nursery. My Mom made her a really darling little quilt, with a little stuffed cow that slipped into a pocket on the quilt. I’ll have to get that quilt out and photograph it so you can see.

    How exciting it is to plan. I love the photo of the “blank slate” room. So much possibility there!

  14. Oh, I love it! Especially the web with the name in it. My daughter LOVED that book when she was tiny- we had it on a book on tape and she’d insist on listening over and over again. She could repeat it word for word when she was 3 or 4.
    Post lots of pictures when you get it all done!
    My favorite book when I was little was Whose Mouse are You?, The Giving Tree, and Stuart Little!

  15. Great idea! If my children were not too old to have their rooms decorated by their mom, I’d follow your lead. Charlotte’s Web is a great choice. We loved Wind in the Willows, too. They both have such lovely illustrations.

  16. Oh, I love Charlotte’s Web. It always turns me in to a blubbering fool! Good luck with the mural and the room. It will be wonderful whatever you end up doing!

  17. Ed’s mom has offered to paint murals on the wall, and I’m excited to include images like the ones from the book.

    Endless talents in your family; lucky woman!

    I had many favorite children’s books, but I can tell you the one I absolutely HATED: Three Little Kittens because my kids ALWAYS said, “Read it AGAIN!” and I’d spend hours saying, “Meow, Meow, Meow”. lol

  18. Rob

    I had many faveorite childhood books, but loved George Orwell’s Animal Farm (I never mentioned I had a twisted childhood?)

    “All animals are created equal, some are just more equal than others”

  19. Sarah Heaston

    Scuffy the Tugboat was a favorite…..Charlotte’s Web was a favorite as I got older!

    Check out Target’s Pem American Barnyard collection for nursery….it’s farm inspired and VERY cute! And is just all around american farm life….:)

  20. Tia

    My two favorite kids books are “Is Your Mama a Llama?” and “When Mama Comes Home Tonight”. My kids would insist I read one of those two every night. They still occasionally want to snuggle on the couch and read them together and they are now 7 & 9 years old. 🙂

    Personally, when I was a kid myself I read & read & read the Little House series.

  21. haley

    Can you please post or send me some pics? I’m expecting twins in June, and we aren’t going to find out the sexes. I was googling “Charolett’es web nursery” and your blog came up. I’d really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

