Best in Show

Not for the pie…  The butternut squash pie got a blue ribbon, but was beat out by a coconut cream pie for Best in Show.  I should have retired her a champion after last year.  Well, there’s always Durham next week.  Honestly, though, Durham is big time and I’ll be very happy with any ribbon there.

fair 003

But I did win Best in Show for my Caramel Apple Butter.  I was shocked… I almost didn’t enter it for a variety of reasons: I only had one jar left from last fall; I only entered it as an afterthought when I was filling out the canning form for the jellies; It has teeny air bubbles and I wasn’t pleased with how it looks.  Well, I guess the judges liked it.  Maybe it was the name, or that it was unique.  Either way, I’m pretty excited about it!

The strawberry jelly won a blue ribbon, and I really felt like that was my best canned item, definitely better than the caramel apple butter.  The peach jelly also won a blue ribbon.

Finally, the baby afghan got second prize, but was beat out by a gorgeous afghan, so that’s fine with me.

8 Comments

Filed under Home, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

8 responses to “Best in Show

  1. Congrats Abbie!! I’ve not yet tried your carmel apple butter but now I’ll have no choice.🙂

  2. Wow! It sounds like you had quite a haul, no matter how you slice it. Well done.🙂

  3. Sounds to me like ya done real good, woman. Congratulations!

  4. Congratulations! And…you better save me some because that sounds delicious!

  5. Congratulations!! If you’re planning on entering in Durham I guess I’ll have some good competition then. I just brought all my canning over to the fairgrounds yesterday afternoon. 🙂 Baking goes over on Wednesday, but I’m not entering pies so I hope you take a blue or Best of Show there. I love the Durham Fair, it’s one my favorite things about Fall. Does your family enter there too? I’ll have to be on the look-out for their name in the farm displays.

    ~~Anne

  6. Marie

    Great job Ab, congratulations!
    A woman of many talents.
    Love
    Mimi xo

  7. Congratulations, Abbie! That is quite an impressive array of ribbons.

Leave a Reply

