Why Do You Blog?

nablopomoI was thinking about my reasons for blogging the other day.  I started this blog after Ed and I moved into our house, and the long hours of building were over.  I had finished my MS degree the August before, and I suddenly had so much free time on my hands.  It was a long, boring winter, which I spent mostly cooking, cleaning the house, doing laundry, and watching TV (oh, and working!).  I also spent a lot of time online, and after reading some eco-blogs, I decided that I would start my own in March of 2008.

I’ve always loved to write, and writing came easily in those early days.  I had tons of ideas, posted daily accounts of what I was cooking for supper, and developed some photography skills.  Some days, I’d post two or three times.  Spring is an exciting time, and there was a lot to write about.

Now, my posts are fewer and farther between.  I try to balance photos, recipes, and thoughtful posts on sustainability.  As the pace of my life has picked up, I find it easier and easier to skip posting for days at a time.  I miss blogging, but it’s just as easy to not post.

I’ve decided to get back on track with posting by taking part in National Blog Posting Month.  Over the month of November, I’m going to reconnect with my goals for Farmer’s Daughter:

  • Chronicling our adventure in living a more sustainable lifestyle
  • Cooking from scratch and maintaining an index of my recipes
  • Gardening
  • Exploring and appreciating nature
  • Supporting local agriculture
  • Continuing to develop my photography skills

These are the reasons for blogging that have evolved over the past year-and-a-half since I started Farmer’s Daughter.  Why do you blog?

8 Comments

Filed under Home

8 responses to “Why Do You Blog?

  1. I started my blog as a chronicle for our families. These days, though, I would say that I blog because I love to write. Also, it’s a great way to connect with a fabulous community of like-minded folks, who just happen to live half a continent away.🙂

  2. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for spelling out “National Blog Posting Month” and not just assuming that the masses already know what those silly rhyming abbreviations stand for.

    Also, thank you again for having a plan and a point for participating, unlike so many others who feel the urge to fill space every day to meet a silly participation requirement.

  3. Good luck on NaBloPoMo… I did that a couple of years ago and it really helped me focus on building my blog. It was great! To answer your question – I started blogging to chronicle my family’s life. It quickly evolved into a platform for me to talk about all the issues that are important to me – things like breastfeeding, parenting, returning to work after having a baby and food allergies. So WHY do I do it? Because I feel a sense of accomplishment by publishing my thoughts – and because time after time I get feedback from readers that my blog has helped them in some way – and that makes it worth it.🙂

  4. I started blogging because a lot of friends and families had blogs. It didn’t start out about the environment but after awhile I saw that was what I was writing about and change it.

    I love how many friends I have made because of it!

  5. Um . . . my blogging inspiration is YOU!

    Don’t be too terribly surprised if a major life event in March gives you even more reason to blog. . . and less time to do just that!

  6. Goodness you are so organized in listing your goals and aspirations, here I sit realizing I blog just to see what I’ll say next. I started blogging partly because Aisling thought I could and her brother encouraged me. I read what they were writing and thought surly I can do that as well, i am their mother after all. Years ago I wrote a weekly column in our local newspaper and folks seemed to like and appreciate it so I’m not a raw recruit at the written word. But i think my first thought here was right, I blog because I’m so curious about everything and enjoy seeing what I can write about next.

  7. I started blogging about the same time as you after reading blogs of friends for about a year. I realized that this was the perfect way to document our Century Farm in a different way than my ancestors. It has been an interesting journey, to compare our farm life with our farm’s founders and to see the similarities and the differences of how we live and farm now as opposed to when this land was raw and untamed.

    I agree with everydaywomanusa, March will bring you a different reason to post. You’re creating a wonderful record for your child(ren)!

  8. I blog mostly to keep it simple for friends and family to see what’s going on in our lives. That it gives me a pulpit for environmentalism, the war on hunger, healthy cooking, etc. is just a side-effect.

Leave a Reply

