Wintergreen Icing

cupcakes 001

I’ve tried many times to get this recipe right.  My Great-Grandma Rose made wintergreen-iced cupcakes, and they were always the perfect shade of pale pink with the perfect wintergreen flavor.  The first time I tried the recipe, I mixed wintergreen extract (which is hard to find) and red food coloring into store-bought vanilla frosting.  That wasn’t right.  Then I tried mixing it into homemade buttercream.  Nope.  Next I tried boiled frosting with an egg white, making a fluffly meringue-like frosting.  Still not right.  Then I realized… icing, not frosting!!!

I think I actually got the texture and consistency right this time, but they’re a little too bright pink for me, even though I only added one drop of red food coloring.  Next time, I’ll double the recipe except for the red food coloring.

  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 3 Tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp wintergreen extract
  • 1 drop red food coloring (really, 1/2 drop would be better)
  • your favorite white cupcake recipe

Bake and cool cupcakes.  Stir together all icing ingredients.  Spoon over cupcakes or dip them in the icing (which is what I think grandma did, and what I’ll try next time).  Enjoy!

cupcakes 011

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes

4 responses to “Wintergreen Icing

  1. So I’m keeping this list of all the things I want you to make when I come visiting…

    Not really, but I would if I was smart!😀

  2. Yum! Your Great-Grandma Rose would be SO proud of you! Your Dad and brother SO appreciated these at work on Sunday! Me, too! Are you and Dad making wintergreen candy this Christmas?

  3. That reminds me of the wintergreen plant that I killed last year. I better go water my plants.

  4. I was thinking, I know it wouldn’t go with tradition but this frosting would probably be delicious on top of homemade cream filled donuts (just in case you’re bored). 😉

Leave a Reply

