Christmas Meme

I stole this from Lisa at Retro Housewife Goes Green.

1.) Have you started your Christmas shopping? I’ve done a little bit here and there.

2.) Tell me about one of your special traditions.  I like to put up my Christmas village the day after Thanksgiving.  My parents have a Christmas village that my great-grandfather made, and I’ve always loved them since setting up that one.

3.) When do you put up your tree? Usually mid-December. Our family sells trees, and there have been years that we didn’t get one put up until Christmas Eve (the cobbler’s kids have no shoes!).

4.) Are you a Black Friday shopper? Nope, that’s when I set up my village!

5.) Do you travel at Christmas or stay home? We stay around here, visiting family that’s close by.

6.) What is your funniest Christmas memory? Being embarrassed that I gave Ed a welding helmet the year he proposed and built a bed for us.  I felt like his present to me was WAY better than the one I gave him.  But to this day, Ed says that welding helmet was the best present I ever gave him.

7.) What is your favorite Christmas movie of all time? Christmas Vacation and A Christmas Story

8.) Do you do your own Christmas baking? What’s your favorite treat? I like to bake cookies, but I feel no pressure to do it because Ed’s mom makes amazing cookies! I love snowball cookies the best. 

9.) Fake or Real Tree? Always real.  Growing up, my mom hated colored lights and tinsel, so my brothers and I would go cut our own little tree from somewhere on the farm and decorate it as gaudy as possible.  That way, my mom could have her elegant tree, and we could have our colorful, flashy tree.  Now, my tree looks a lot like my mom’s.

10.) What day (as a Mom) does the actual panic set in to get it all done? I’m not a mom, but I’d say the day before Christmas Eve

11.) Are you still wrapping presents on Christmas Eve? Haha, usually just starting

12.) What is your favorite family fun time at Christmas? I love relaxing at home on Christmas night after all the parties are overwith. It’s too early to start cleaning up, so we just relax. 

13.) What Christmas craft do you like the best? I like making Santa gourds, and I worked on some of them today.  I’ll post a how-to soon!

14.) Christmas music? Yes or No. And if yes, What is your favorite song? I like Christmas music, and still like Jingle Bells the best! I can’t stand the Chipmunks, though.

15.) When do you plan to finish all your shopping? LOL, hopefully before Christmas eve.

Any blogger is welcome to participate in this meme, even if you haven’t been tagged yet. Just simply copy and paste the questions into your blog, and then answer them. Then tag 5 or more of your favorite blogs, and leave them a comment telling them they’ve been tagged. (I’m not tagging anyone, play along if you want!)

When you post your blog, please spread some Christmas cheer, and leave a link back to Heather’s Top Ten Christmas Blog, and the blog that you were tagged by.

1 Comment

Filed under Home

One response to “Christmas Meme

  1. Abbie,

    How VERY ironic that your tree now looks like “mine!” You did have a lot of fun with your brothers with those “gaudy” trees, though, didn’t you?

    OK, now I want to know, how did you make it snow on your site? I’m loving the softly falling snow all over your blog as I post this comment!!!

    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

