We Met Pioneer Woman!

Today, my mom and I headed to NYC for The Pioneer Woman Cooks book signing with Ree Drummond, the Pioneer Woman herself! I have to say that I don’t particularly like to go to the city.  Just looking at the train schedules is enough to make me want to stay home, it’s so out of my element.  Of course since I’m a big girl (and my mommy went with me) I got over that fear.  My sister-in-law Kate was headed into the city to go Christmas shopping in Little Italy, so we rode in with her, which added to my comfort zone.  On the train, I joked that I thought waiting in line for the book signing would be like Ralphie waiting in line to see Santa, with people rushing us along.  Go ahead and watch the clip to refresh your memory.

I don’t know what made me think of that.  Maybe that’s just how I feel about the city in general: everyone rushes around and you don’t get to really enjoy what you went to see.  Fortunately, that was far from what really happened.

As soon as we arrived, we headed to Chelsea Market and got in line.  There weren’t a ton of people there, maybe 50 in front of us, but it filled up quickly behind us! The line turned out to be very long!  We waited and chatted with a fellow blogger who was in line right behind us.  Before we knew it, we were up at the front of the line.

I have to say that my overall impression was very positive.  Ree was really friendly, asking about my baby while she signed the book.  My mom chatted with Ree, too, and then she posed for pictures with us.  I was surprised by how genuine she was and how we weren’t rushed along at all, and instead we had a nice little chat.  I left feeling not at all like Ralphie.

UPDATE: My mom’s giving away a signed copy of the book over at her blog.  Go visit her and sign up to win by December 24th!

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch

9 responses to “We Met Pioneer Woman!

  1. Lizz

    That’s so exciting!! I really wanted to go but had work yesterday and a hair appointment today😦. Oh well, I’m not getting the cook book until Christmas anyways.

  2. Abbie,

    It was a GREAT time, wasn’t it? Ree was so INCREDIBLE in person!!!

    Yes, I’ve also posted about it and there’s an AUTOGRAPHED copy of “Pioneer Woman Cooks” very special GIVE-AWAY on my site, so do come over and visit!

    Ruth aka Everydaywoman

  3. Ann

    Hi–I’m from CT. also & went to the book signing with one of my friends–i live in the NW corner. i agree with your assessment–I thought the whole event was well organized & run–we got to spend a few minutes talking with her & taking photos–it was great–I posted my photos on my blog, too–and Facebook

  4. I’m glad you didn’t feel at all like Ralphie. Although I do have to say, I feel a slide-as-exit would enhance almost any occasion.😉

  5. Ann

    Thanks for posting a comment on my blog–nice to find a fellow CT blogger! I’ve bookmarked your site.

  6. I’m also from CT and had to go into the city that same day for a seminar so I couldn’t go see Pioneer Woman. I was so bummed….Thank you for sharing your pictures…I’ll just make believe I was there🙂

  7. JoAnne Salinsky

    Abbie – I was with Ann and had a blast! Ree was really so genuine & nice! Glad you decided to go…. I felt like such a groupie!

Leave a Reply

