Goals 2010

2009 was a great year, and I have no complaints.  I do however have some goals for 2010 to make it even better.

Personal Goals

  • Get up in time to eat breakfast at the table, not in the car (while I’m still working)
  • Organize my files for my long-term substitute by February
  • Continue to get ready, physically and mentally, to welcome our little boy
  • Be the best mommy that I can be, and not be afraid to accept or ask for help when I need it
  • Continue to nurture our marriage

Blog Goals

  • Post when I can… With a baby coming, I’m not going for anything grand here. 

Sustainability Goals (These are my goals, but I’m sure Ed will play a big role in actually accomplishing most of them)

  • Get laying hens this spring
  • Keep up with the garden
  • Preserve more strawberries and peaches this summer
  • Begin to formally compost (as opposed to just dumping stuff in the woods, which is what I do now)

So what are your goals for the new year?

8 Comments

Filed under Sustainable Living

8 responses to “Goals 2010

  1. Great Goals!!! I like goals better than resolutions!

    When you’re ready to ask for help (with the baby!), I’m there!!!

  2. I have many complaints about the last year… but we move forward b/c with the bad (FIL died Mother’s Day – heart attack) there’s always the good.

    Chicken’s are probably not going to happen… Dh isn’t interested and time is a factor. My garden is too big, but this year I want to make some changes to it. Also, I was injured last May – lawnmower picked up a piece of steel and I now have a 2″ scar in my right shin… I was 10m or more away from it at the time – so Dad planted it.

    My “resolutions” are more of a “to do” list. The biggesst one at the top is to “get over”, the “coulda, woulda, shoulda” list…. I’m still working on it.

  3. PS, I did attempt to compost one year. But dumping in the woods is simpler. BUT, we have cattle so kitchen scraps go there and in exchange Dh puts manure on the garden.

  4. Resolutions:
    1. I am going to sort/organize/ donate/discard the contents of the equivalent of at least one box of “stuff” a day until the upper levels of the house are in order.

    2. I’m going to begin the task of formalizing my masters degree so I can retire at a decent pay scale in a few years.

    3. I’m going to learn how to make better home-brewed wine and better home made cheese.

    4. I’m going to continue to watch my food and drink consumption so I can get my cholesterol and triglycerides in order (and lose weight doing it).

    5. I’m going to grow my garden with an eye on freezing and preserving for the winter better.

  5. I loved reading your goals. Aside from continuing my school work with as much verve as I can muster, I haven’t made any formal plans for the year. I like the way I live my life at home, for the most part, but am always tweaking. I hope to carry my backlog of recycling to the recycling center this month and not let it build up so much between trips this coming year.

    Best of luck with your goals!

  6. I want to have laying hens of my own one day. Sadly, our suburban back yard just doesn’t allow for them, but I look forward to reading your adventures.

    This year my goals involve figuring out how to be a work-at-home mom, and eating less meat. I have no plans to give it up entirely, but I could do at least one meatless day a week.

  7. Happy New Year!!! I know this one will be a great one for you😉

  8. Great goals. I want to have a productive garden in 2010 as well. Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

