A Tribute to Agriculture

I think I’ve mentioned here before that family farms are important to me, right? :)  Well, I’m very happy to share that my town’s high school is developing a program to promote agriculture, build a greenhouse, and work with local farmers to farm an acre plot near the school.  I got involved by sharing some lesson plans and activities that could be used in a greenhouse (I teach in a neighboring town and have a greenhouse attached to my room *dream classroom!*).  You can read the newspaper article about the plan, where I’m flattered to be mentioned for the small role that I played.  So, in honor of this announcement, I’m devoting this post to local farms.

When I think of New England farms, I think of barns.

Mema’s dairy barn, on the farm where my mom grew up

The barn at Ed’s parents house, where woodworking takes place

stand 009

A neighbor/ friend’s barn, home of their family’s garden center

historical tag sale 006

The historical society’s barn, that houses town artifacts

annabelle-stand-046

My family’s farm market

And my favorite picture, the waterwheel barn at my family’s farm, decorated for Christmas by my brother Nathaniel

5 Comments

Filed under Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “A Tribute to Agriculture

  1. There is something really lovely about barns. I grew up in farm country (although not on a farm) and they make me think of home.

  2. Rob

    Ever thought of living in a barn??? I have. some say I do!

  3. Oh how I love barns! I have terrible barn envy. Thanks for the pics

  4. Congrats, Ab, for the mention in the newspaper! As a 12th generation family-farmer, you are making a difference!

    Just love all your barn shots . . . guessing you have time on your hands these days to dig all those up . . . enjoy it while it lasts!

  5. I love barns….my dad has a carriage house converted to a barn/greenhouse. You can find ANYTHING in there.

Leave a Reply

