Birthday and Garden Plans

Today’s my 29th birthday! I was hoping that the baby might plan to make his arrival today, but it doesn’t seem that he will… I’ve got plans to go out to lunch with my grandma and aunt, and Ed’s mom is making a special dinner and sending it home with Ed.  It’s a beautiful day, the fourth or fifth in a row, and I’m thinking about gardening!

Ed and I always try to get each other practical gifts.  For the first year in our house, the house was always our gift to each other on holidays or birthdays.  In the last year or so, I’ll get Ed some new socks and work clothes, or make him a nice dinner.  He either makes me a peice of furniture (I love that!) or lets me pick out my own present.  For my birthday today, I’m picking out some plants for the garden.

Yesterday, I went through my seeds to see what I had leftover and perused gardening catelogs.  I organized my thoughts and updated my Garden page for 2010.  I also decided what I’d like to get for my birthday.

First, I’d like to buy some wildflower plants to add to my “wildlife garden.”  I decided to plant a wildflower garden a while back after a fawn died in our yard and we buried it in the woods.  (You can read the story, but it’s a tear-jerker! Don’t say I didn’t warn you!) I planted a mix of daffodils there, and they were beautiful last spring. 

turkeys-and-daffodils-0122

Daffodils in the wildlife garden

I also broadcast seeded a wildflower mix last spring and nothing ever came up.  I’d like to plant some black eyed susans, coneflowers, butterfly bush, bee balm and cosmos to start the garden this spring.  I love the look of those old fashioned flowers, and I know they’ll bring pollinators to our yard.  I’ve been checking out catalogs and when I know the varieties I’ve selected, I’ll add them to my Garden page.

I also want to add some trees to our little orchard.  When I mentioned that to Ed last night, he said “What orchard? Those sticks we planted last year?” Um, yes! That would be our orchard.  In 5-10 years, it’s going to be beautiful!

sunday stroll 007

Our one and only apple blossom last spring

 I’d like to add a couple of peach trees, a sweet cherry tree, a shiro plum tree (they’re yellow and delicious!), a plumcot tree, a nectarine tree and some pear trees.  Not all this year, I’d like to add them over time.  My brothers told me last night that my family is planning to add about 500 peach trees to their orchard this year, so I may see if I can get a couple of them if there are any left over.  Otherwise, we’ll probably order a few trees.

All this thinking about spring has me excited to get outside and get planting! Just looking back at last year’s blooms has really brightened my day.  What’s going on in your garden?

13 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch

13 responses to “Birthday and Garden Plans

  1. Happy Birthday Abbie!!! I like your ideas for your gifts. I tried some of that wildflower seeding too, and got nothing. 😦

    Hope you have a wonderful day!!!

  2. Amy

    Happy Birthday Abbie!!

  3. Happy Birthday. My daughters are all excited about replacing the front lawn with gardens. We plan a mix, trees, veggies and for my youngest lots of wild flowers.

  4. Happy birthday!

    I am starting seeds inside right now, and trying desperately to keep them safe from my toddler. I tried seed saving for the first time, and I am very emotionally involved in those tomatoes!

  5. Happy Birthday! I wish my garden was going as well as those pretty pictures, but my seed starter set-up is not so good… I’ve got maybe 5 shoots.😛 Oh well, it’s a learning curve!

    Those daffodils are beautiful, and good luck with your wildflowers!

  6. Striving for a Simple Life

    Happy Birthday!!!

  7. Tia

    Happy birthday!

    I just received a hanging planter for my tomatoes. I cannot wait til mid-May…when it is warm enough to put anything outside with no more frost danger. I tried to make some hanging planters last year but the yield was just too small. Hopefully these will work better.

    I can’t wait to put in my peppers and I hope to add some peas this year. 🙂

  8. Happy Birthday, Abs!

    I’m dragging my feet on gardening this year. Weather is nice here this week, too, but hubby started cataract removal today and that makes me responsible for him somewhat.

    Cleaned out my asparagus bed last week before rains came. Have about four asparagus so far; not enough for a meal, but harbingers of Spring.

    Starting pepper seeds in pots with non-soil. Peppers seem to take FOREVER to sprout. Only set 3 seeds (in separate pots) of each variety and so far I only have 4 varieties.

    May cut back on garden this year. Last year seemed too much for one person and I have a granddaughter this year.
    We’re also trying to eat less more often. Don’t know if you’ve ever tried that, but I’m already tired of cooking so often.

  9. Bonne a fete! (Happy birthday!)

    I hope you had a fantasic day! Your gardening plans sound wonderful. I wish I had thought more about it. This time of year is CRAZY all the snow has melted in my area so the phones have been ringing off the hook with people wanting to do stuff with their yards (sod farm) Anyways, your post has really made me want to start planning!

  10. Happy Belated Birthday! No garden over here as I live in a cramped apartment. I’m going to attempt a window box this year with some herbs, maybe. But that’s it!

  11. happy birthday and best wishes for an easy and wonderful delivery
    This is my first time visiting your blog and I’m looking forward to reading through old posts.
    When you have time, I suggest you take a look at the Bowman’s Hill Wildflower Preserve website ( http://www.bhwp.org ). There’s some great info on wildflowers. The Preserve is near my home and one of my favorite places.
    I also hope you might take a minute to visit my blog.

    good luck and take care

  12. Happy Birthday! You are birthday twins with my daughter, Emily. She was 13!

  13. rob in Australia

    Good luck throughout your 30th year Abbie when our firstborn appeared my first wife struggled with the demand for her milk but it seems you might “go the distance” I can tell you that its great to go thru life having been breast fed…..ROB XXXX

Leave a Reply

