Nature’s Rules

Today’s guest post comes from ITFarmer.

I started this blog post like any other. I got my camera, and headed out to take some pictures, but I wanted these pictures to be unique. I decided to climb up to the top of the greenhouse, and take some shots of the garden from the peak window. The plan seemed simple enough, but I had this nagging fealing to be careful. I wrote it off figuring that no matter how far I fell off or out of the greenhouse it wouldn’t cause that serious of an injury.

 

I moved forward with care, and made it a point to hold on tight, with two hands when possible. This mindset seemed to ease my worry a bit. When I got to the top, and peared out, I made an interesting decision. I noted that I could fit completely out of the window, and decided to be a bit more daring than most days. So I pulled myself out of the window, and managed to stand up, with my feet at the base. I then grabbed hold of the ridge piece which caps the entire structure. I was quite proud of my climbing skills as I turned my camera on.

These would be some great shots ! I clicked off a photo of the difference between my 62 and 75 days corn, Early Sunglow and Butter and Suger respectively. I’ve grown corn in the garden before, but this corn was doing quite well. In my pride, I surveyed the rest of the garden, wondering how I would angle the pictures. That’s when I heard a noise, a buzzing it seemed. It was just my luck that a bee would find me in this vulnerable state. I swatted at the buzz, only to hear more noises. When I looked down to note the placement of my feet and options for evasion, I noticed the real problem, and began to feel what felt like dozens of painfull stings. There were wasps swarming all around my uncovered belly, arms and head. Here I am 15 feet above the ground, barely hanging onto the roof ridge wondering what to do, and thinking to myself “You don’t have time for a good idea, you just need to act fast”. I threw myself off of the structure, as I’ve jumped from many a tree as a child. I landed as I’ve learned to in the past, and hit the ground running. After clearing the grape trellis, I decided to check my self out and see how many holes I had in my skin. To my suprise, I could only find three wounds, albeit they carried a very sharp pain, and swelled to the size of a rolex before subsiding.

 

After dealing with the stings, I decided to take a photo of the creatures that defended their home, and chased me away. Here is a close up of one of these defensize creatures. I haven’t yet decided how to move forward with the knowledge of their existance. They may have helped pollinate the garden, so I’m torn with how to deal with a creature that has helped as well as hurt me. For now, I will leave them be.

ITFarmer is a self professed “computer guy”, working in the publishing industry for about ten years now.  In 2007, after reading repeatedly bad news about the economy, he decided it was time to learn how to grow food “Just In Case”.  Farming for survival was the intention, but it led to a new respect for nature, and became a much enjoyed hobby. These days The farmer spends little time reading about wall street, but a great deal of time spreading manure, and writing about his trial and error way of learning how to grow foodCheck out his blog!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Outside, Sustainable Living

4 responses to “Nature’s Rules

  1. Hate to say it but that is a wasp. They are bad news round here as they decimate honey bees. They also attack ripe fruit. You might want to dispose of them.

    viv in nz

  2. I have a similar relationship with snakes. I like what snakes do – eat bugs and rodents. But when I find one curled up in an (empty) chicken nest – my response goes terminal.

    Some boundaries just shouldn’t be crossed.

    @ viz in nz,

    What predators prey on wasps? Or are they the top of their food chain?

    Brad K.

  3. Thanks so much for contributing a story that I’m sure many people can relate to!

  4. Round here they are the top but they are also not native. There may well be predators for them where they originate.

    viv in nz

    ps I sat on one once – a painful experience! At that point they became truly unloved🙂

Leave a Reply

