Happy Birthing Day!

I believe that all births should be celebrated.  The following birth stories include big babies, little babies, long and short labors, late babies and preemies, natural hospital births, hospital births with interventions, emergency c-sections, planned c-sections, inductions, home births and unassisted births, births with doctors, midwives and doulas, and everything in between. 

While I understand that a birth cannot be summed up into a few words (hence the “story” part), I’ve written a few little notes to help differentiate between the stories.  If you submitted a story and don’t like my summary, please feel free to write a sentence or two and send it to me, I’d be happy to replace what I’ve written.  If you forgot to submit your story (or I forgot to post it), leave a comment with a link and summary and I’ll add it.  (But remember, I’ll be at work so I won’t update for a while!)

Thank you to all the wonderful mommas who shared their stories! I have loved reading them all!

The Promise of a Rainbow natural hospital birth following induction

Lucy’s Birth natural birth at a birth center

Molly’s Birth Story hospital birth following induction

My “Natural Births” 2 hospital births with doulas, following induction

My C-Section emergency c-section following hospital labor with doulas

The Birth I Didn’t Want: L hospital birth

Islove’s Unhindered, Unassisted Birth

H’s Birth Story hospital birth following labor at home

DS1, 2 and 3’s Birth Stories 3 different births of 3 boys

Luca’s Birth Story a doula’s homebirth

The birth of Ella Raine unassisted homebirth

C’s Birth Story a 24-week preemie

Two Years Gone By in the Blink of an Eye C-section due to footling breech baby

Waterbirth at a birth center

Liam’s Birthday homebirth with a midwife

Joshua’s Birth Story My very long story of 41 hours of labor and Joshua’s birth

Don’t forget to email me with your baby picture to join in our “Guess the Blogger” game on Wednesday! AbbieR31081 AT aol DOT com.

10 Comments

Filed under Sustainable Living

10 responses to “Happy Birthing Day!

  1. Here’s the story of my daughter’s birth center water birth! Her birthday is March 22 and she’ll be 2!
    http://wifemomandmore.wordpress.com/2010/01/09/waterbirth/

  2. http://beansproutitaly.blogspot.com/2009/07/liams-birthday.html

    Sorry I didn’t get this to you sooner… Liam was sick and I thought I’d be sending you a different birth story! 🙂 No such luck though, this baby seems to think that hours of fake-out labor is acceptable just like Liam did.

  3. I won’t blog about it but the story of my youngest is pretty fun. I had had a long, slow moving labor with my first so when I woke up at 5am with labor pains for my second, I was in no hurry to go anywhere. I sent my husband to work and set about playing with my youngest. By 11 am, the pains were bad enough that I called my doula and a babysitter. At 3pm, my doula suggested that I call my doctor. I wasn’t really into it. I didn’t want to spend too much time in the hospital. By the time I got around to it, the doctor insisted I come in before 5. My water broke in the doctor’s parking lot and when I got to the doctor’s office, my midwife took one look at me and was like “go to the hospital RIGHT NOW! I’ll be right behind you.” I had to wait for her at the hospital and had my son 20 minutes after arriving. My midwife didn’t even have her surgical clothes on.

    Fun stories all around.

  4. Wonderful stories, everyone!

    Is it too late to tell the story of YOUR birth, Abbie?

    Love,
    Mom

  5. Rob

    Happy Birthday Joshua!!!
    LOL Abby- your Spring Celebration inspired me to host a give away… and it’s for the kids!
    And the young at heart!
    http://robj98168.blogspot.com/2011/03/childrens-garden-giveaway.html

  6. Toni R

    Happy Birthday Joshua and Happy Birthing Day to you Abbie!
    Thank you for sharing all these wonderful birth stories!

Leave a Reply

