Menu-Planning Monday

It’s vacation! I’m planning to try out some new recipes and revive old favorites this week, as I’m getting a little sick of the same meals every week.  I’m also planning to try out some new kid-friendly lunch recipes for Joshua, so I’ll take pictures and post those recipes if they’re winners.

Monday- bbq chicken legs , homemade macaroni and cheese, cole slaw, tossed salad (tried and true, but I haven’t made these in a while),

 Tuesday- lamb chops, scalloped potatoes, asparagus, carrots, spinach and strawerry salad

Wednesday- flank steak, mashed potatoes, sauteed mushrooms, yellow squash and tossed salad

Thursday- whole wheat lasagna, green squash, tossed salad

Friday- quiche, veggies (whatever’s left…), spinach and strawberry salad

Saturday- birthday celebration for my dad and brother- not sure yet about supper but definitely lemon meringue pie for dessert

lemon-meringue-044

New-to-me lunch ideas for Joshua (in any combination and order)

  • whole wheat tortilla roll ups of hummus, roasted red peppers, chicken breast, basil (I included the link to the tortilla recipe I use, but I bought some to try it. I’ll make my own if Josh likes them!)
  • tortilla roll ups of cream cheese, thinly sliced cucumbers and dill
  • tortilla roll ups of mashed avocado, cheese and chicken breast
  • cheese and crackers
  • pear slices, strawberries, blueberries, watermelon balls, red grapes with yogurt for dipping
  • hummus, tzatziki or guacamole with carrots, cucumber, zucchini, broccoli, asparagus, grape tomatoes, celery
  • kale chips

cucumber yogurt dip 005

What’s on your menu this week? Any toddler-friendly lunch ideas?

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Sustainable Living

3 responses to “Menu-Planning Monday

  1. That lemon meringue pie looks fabulous! I also was intrigued by your mac and cheese recipe – I’ve been looking for a good one and think I will have to give yours a try!

  2. The pie looks fabulous! I’ll have to give it a whirl. I just posted a mac and cheese recipe too — I use cream instead of just milk, and a few different cheeses. If you’re in the mood for shaking things up, check it out: http://sundayinthekitchen.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/road-food-baked-macaroni-and-cheese-rice-and-lentil-salad-with-cherries/

Leave a Reply

