Omnivore’s Hundred

This is a fun list I picked up from Laura, the Fearless Chef.  It’s neat to run through and see what you’ve tried.  I’ve put the items I’ve eaten in red and added some comments.  It’s funny because I’ve never even heard of many of these, so I put those items in blue.

1. Venison- deer when I was growing up, caribou and moose with Ed’s family 
2. Nettle tea
3.
Huevos rancheros
4.
Steak tartare
5. Crocodile
6. Black pudding
7. Cheese fondue
8. Carp
9.
Borscht
10.
Baba ghanoush– Heard of it, but couldn’t tell you what it looks like
11.
CalamariI mistakenly thought it was onion rings
12.
Pho
13.
PB&J sandwich
14.
Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16.
Epoisses
17. Black truffle
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes
19. Steamed pork buns
20.
Pistachio ice cream
21.
Heirloom tomatoes
22. Fresh wild berries- Wineberries! 
23.
Foie gras
24.
Rice and beansArroz con habicheulas in Puerto Rico 
25.
Brawn, or head cheese
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper- Cut in half, touched it then my tongue on a dare.  Bad decision! 
27.
Dulce de leche
28. Oysters- But I’m not a fan 
29.
Baklava
30.
Bagna cauda
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl- Had one yesterday in the rain at the fair! 
33. Salted
lassi
34.
Sauerkraut
35. Root beer float
36. Cognac with a fat cigar
37. Clotted
cream tea
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O
39.
Gumbo
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat- In Jamaica, my mom made us try it but I didn’t like it 
42. Whole insects 
43.
Phaal
44. Goat’s milk- Does it count if it’s turned into cheese? 
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more
46.
Fugu
47.
Chicken tikka masala
48. Eel
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut- Once when the new one opened.  I don’t get it. 
50. Sea urchin
51.
Prickly pear
52.
Umeboshi
53.
Abalone
54.
Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal- In the old days 
56.
Spaetzle
57. Dirty gin
martini
58. Beer above 8% ABV
59.
Poutine
60.
Carob chips 
61.
S’mores- What girl scout hasn’t? 
62.
Sweetbreads
63.
Kaolin
64.
Currywurst
65.
Durian
66. Frogs’ legs

67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake
68.
Haggis
69. Fried
plantain

70.
Chitterlings, or andouillette
71.
Gazpacho
72. Caviar and
blini
73. Louche
absinthe
74.
Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill
76.
Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie 
78. Snail
79.
Lapsang souchong
80.
Bellini
81.
Tom yum
82.
Eggs Benedict
83.
Pocky
84. Tasting menu at a three-
Michelin-star restaurant- Who’s Michelin?
85.
Kobe beef
86. Hare
87.
Goulash
88.
Flowers
89. Horse NEVER!!! Like dog, I just couldn’t. 
90. Criollo chocolate
91. Spam
92.
Soft shell crab– Tried a little piece, but it looks like a fried spider 
93. Rose
harissa
94. Catfish
95.
Mole poblano
96. Bagel  and lox 
97.
Lobster Thermidor
98.
Polenta
99.
Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake

So I’ve eaten 26 of these items.  I guess that’s not very adventurous.  Also, I don’t know what 29 of these foods are! I’m guessing many are Indian and Asian foods, based on the names, but I think there’s some French stuff in there, too.  I guess you can see how my kitchen is very lacking in the cultural diversity department.

How about you?

12 Comments

Filed under Food, Home

12 responses to “Omnivore’s Hundred

  1. Looks like I’ve eaten 61 of the items on the list.

  2. I can clain 65. I think I have a few years on the both of ‘ya.

  3. Claim. Sheesh, I can’t type.

  4. I’ve had 44 – almost my age!

  5. Tia

    Not bad. I have had 50 of these. There are several that I can’t have though because I am allergic to shellfish. : ) And there are a couple on there that I know I absolutely won’t eat like the horse, head cheese and foie gras.

  6. I’m quite sure I could live happily without ever ingesting steak tartare, sweetbreads, malt whisky, or cognac with a fat cigar, but would love to try huevos rancheros and a few others. You should really try wasabi peas or wasabi potatoes, or anything w/ wasabi!

  7. 1. Venison- I’ve had one bite of deer, didn’t like it and had tears in my eyes cause I ate bambi (I was 16 years old lol)
    2. Nettle tea- nope
    3. Huevos rancheros- nope
    4. Steak tartare- nope
    5. Crocodile- nope
    6. Black pudding- never heard of it
    7. Cheese fondue- yes, yummy
    8. Carp- no
    9. Borscht- never heard of it
    10. Baba ghanoush- nope
    11. Calamari- no
    12. Pho- no
    13. PB&J sandwich- yup but no more since I’m at risk for a peanut allergy. Almond butter and jelly now.
    14. Aloo gobi- never heard of
    15. Hot dog from a street cart- nope and since nitrates give me migraines never will.
    16. Epoisses- never heard of
    17. Black truffle- I’m deathly allergic to mushrooms
    18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes- not sure
    19. Steamed pork buns- no
    20. Pistachio ice cream- no
    21. Heirloom tomatoes- maybe in food, no idea
    22. Fresh wild berries- blackberries, eww
    23. Foie gras- no
    24. Rice and beans- no
    25. Brawn, or head cheese- no and never will!
    26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper- no
    27. Dulce de leche- yes
    28. Oysters- no
    29. Baklava- no
    30. Bagna cauda-never heard of
    31. Wasabi peas- no
    32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl- no
    33. Salted lassi- no
    34. Sauerkraut- no
    35. Root beer float- yes, ew, I don’t like root beer
    36. Cognac with a fat cigar- I’ve had lots of cognac but I have asthma so no smoking.
    37. Clotted cream tea- no
    38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O- no
    39. Gumbo- no
    40. Oxtail- no
    41. Curried goat- no
    42. Whole insects- no and won’t. I’ve had the option to a few times and I say no every time
    43. Phaal- never heard of
    44. Goat’s milk- Goat’s cheese, didn’t like it
    45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more- umm… Don’t think so
    46. Fugu- never heard of
    47. Chicken tikka masala- no, doesn’t it have mushrooms?
    48. Eel- no
    49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut- yes but I like cake doughnuts better
    50. Sea urchin- no
    51. Prickly pear- I had a prickly pear sucker
    52. Umeboshi- never heard of
    53. Abalone- see above
    54. Paneer- above
    55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal- No and never will
    56. Spaetzle- never heard of
    57. Dirty gin martini- ew no. I have had gin and I HATE HATE HATE it
    58. Beer above 8% ABV- I hate beer so no
    59. Poutine- never heard of
    60. Carob chips- no
    61. S’mores- yes
    62. Sweetbreads- yes
    63. Kaolin- never heard of
    64. Currywurst- no
    65. Durian- no
    66. Frogs’ legs- no
    67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake- Never heard of elephant ears but I have had beignets (in NOLA), churros, and funnel cake
    68. Haggis- no
    69. Fried plantain- no
    70. Chitterlings, or andouillette- no
    71. Gazpacho- no
    72. Caviar and blini- no
    73. Louche absinthe- no
    74. Gjetost, or brunost- never heard of
    75. Roadkill- ew no
    76. Baijiu- never heard of
    77. Hostess Fruit Pie- no
    78. Snail- no
    79. Lapsang souchong- never heard of
    80. Bellini- no
    81. Tom yum- huh?
    82. Eggs Benedict- no, sensitive to eggs
    83. Pocky- ?
    84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant- what?
    85. Kobe beef- yes
    86. Hare- no
    87. Goulash- no
    88. Flowers- yes
    89. Horse- I totally agree with you
    90. Criollo chocolate- no
    91. Spam- no
    92. Soft shell crab- no
    93. Rose harissa- ?
    94. Catfish- No, yes I live in Oklahoma and don’t eat catfish. I really don’t like fish
    95. Mole poblano- no
    96. Bagel and lox- no
    97. Lobster Thermidor- no
    98. Polenta- no
    99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee- no
    100. Snake- no

    I don’t really like seafood which takes off a lot of this list, I’m allergic to mushrooms and i don’t really like weird foods lol.

  8. 19 I haven’t tried… Though some I would like to! I LOVE food.

  9. What I’d give for a decent cup of Lapsang souchong and a platter of Spaetzle. Spaetzle is a german noodle that’s very good with butter or gravy. Lapsang souchong is a smoky flavor black tea. Yummy yummy.
    Anyway, I got maybe 16, I might have eaten road kill but I’m not 100% sure.

Leave a comment