Maple Pecan Oatmeal Scones with Maple Glaze

It’s almost maple syrup season around here.  Many people think maple syrup is made in the fall, but it’s not.  Late winter and early spring, when the temperatures are above freezing during the day but still below freezing at night… that’s when the sap runs.  Last year’s syrup season wasn’t a great one, and that combined with an increased demand for local foods means that everyone I know who makes syrup, including my family, Ed’s family, members of my extended family, and other local farmers, are sold out.  Ed and I still have a few bottles of maple syrup squirreled away in our pantry. When I saw this recipe for maple-oatmeal scones, I was inspired to use some of our coveted syrup.  I made some adjustments to the recipe, accounting for the ingredients I had on hand and making additions as I saw fit.  I didn’t have any buttermilk, but substituted with 1/2 cup milk mixed with 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice, allowed to sit for 10 minutes.

Maple Pecan Oatmeal Scones

  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 Tbsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 lb cold butter, diced
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 4 beaten eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, sugar, salt and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter with your fingers or a pastry blender.  In a separate bowl, mix the buttermilk, maple syrup and eggs, then add to the dry ingredients.  Stir until blended, then add the pecans.  Turn the dough out onto a floured counter, then form it into 4 equal circles, about 1 1/2″ thick.  Slice each circle into six triangles, then place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake at 400°F for 18-20 minutes.  Allow to cool on a wire rack.

Maple Glaze

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 Tbsp milk

Whisk all ingredients together, then drizzle on top of the cooled scones.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Recipes

5 responses to “Maple Pecan Oatmeal Scones with Maple Glaze

  1. From the first part of this post I thought you were going to post details of making maple syrup! It would be so cool to see how it’s done.. I remember being fascinated with it reading the Laura Ingalls Wilder books when I was little.

  2. Thanks so much for sharing! Yummiest Valentine gift EVER!

  3. We had an excellent syrop season here.

    We still have quite a bit left over, but we’re still going to make more. In my house it’s a food group.

  4. Marie AKA Mimi

    Hey Ab
    The scones were really good, thanks for the Val. gift!!!
    Love the maple glaze on them, that is a keeper recipe. I am hoping to paint this afternoon, I will call you and let you know xoxo Thanks again.

Leave a comment