Pie Dough

This is the recipe I use all the time, for any kind of pie, and it’s the crust I used when my Butternut Squash pie won Best In Show.  From set-up to clean-up this morning, including taking pictures along the way, this only took me 10 minutes.  I never timed it before, so I was surprised how fast it was!

This recipe will make dough for a one-crusted pie, since that’s what I usually make.  I like to make crumb toppings for fruit pies, but if you want a two-crusted pie, just double it.

pie-dough-1-002

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/8-1/4 cup ice water

pie-dough-1-008

Pulse the flour, sugar and salt in a food processor to combine. 

pie-dough-1-010

Dice the cold butter.

pie-dough-1-0131

Add the butter to the food processor.  I use the processor because it goes so much faster than doing it by hand, plus if you use your fingers it will melt the butter and the crust won’t be as flaky.  But in a pinch, you certainly could use your fingers.

pie-dough-1-014

Pulse until the butter is blended into the flour but you can still see small pieces.

pie-dough-1-017

With the machine on, slowly stream in the water until the dough just comes together.  The amount of water needed will depend on the humidity and other factors, so you have to pay attention to the dough.

pie-dough-1-018

The dough should look like this when there’s enough water.  It’s not one big lump of dough, but rather just sticky enough to hold together.  If you add too much water until it’s one mass, your dough can become tough.

pie-dough-1-021

Dump the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap.  See how it’s crumbly? That’s what it should look like.  I know we’re trying to get away from the plastic, but this is an important part.  I guess you could use a piece of wax paper or cloth if you wanted.

pie-dough-1-023

Form the dough into a flattened ball.  See how it all sticks together now? Aren’t you glad you didn’t add all that water before?  Now wrap and refrigerate 30 minutes or until you’re ready to roll it out.

And don’t worry, pie crust is tough.  I wanted to make sure I really got it right before posting, which is why I’ve been posting pie recipes without the crust recipe for about a year now! If you’ve never made it before, this one is easy and with the food processor it’s very fast.  No excuse to use a store bought one!

Right now it’s sitting in my fridge with plans for a pie later on today…

11 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes, Sustainable Living

11 responses to “Pie Dough

  1. I use a very similar recipe. I only started making butter crusts recently, and I love them. They are by far the tastiest in my opinion.

  2. Did you get a new camera? Photos are fantastic!

  3. Abbie,

    What an exclusive recipe and what a great pie dough tutorial! The photos and explanation are fantastic! That really kicks Rachel Ray’s butt or any other pioneer in cooking/baking, if you know what I mean!

  4. Amber- I agree that butter’s the way to go. So what if it’s unhealthy… it’s pie!

    Laura- Same camera my mom gave me at Christmas time, I’m just learning how to use it better!

    Mom- I know what you mean… thanks 🙂

    And there’s a lemon meringue pie in the works!!!

  5. So let’s see…if I start driving now… how about pie on Sunday afternoon? Lol. I suppose making my own would be faster. I only have a little food processor but I could still chop the butter/flour mix that way and than do the water part in a bowl. Thanks for the suggestion to use butter, I’ve been using shortening and think butter is much healthier in a way.

  6. Thanks for your pie dough recipe- now maybe I will attempt to make my own pie crusts- again. Now I will shut my pie-hole!

  7. Samantha

    Hello! I was wondering is this for one pie crust? I just wanted to be sure. Does this recipe come out good if doubled or should I make them seperately? Thank you!

    • “This recipe will make dough for a one-crusted pie, since that’s what I usually make. I like to make crumb toppings for fruit pies, but if you want a two-crusted pie, just double it.”

      You can just double it in the food processor and it comes out the same. However, if you want to make two 2-crusted pies (meaning quadruple the recipe) then you should do it in two batches because it’s too big for the food processorl.

  8. What an awesome tutorial on pie crust making! Move over, P-dub!!!

  9. Just made this again. This time I did it exactly like the instructions say. It barely fit in my little food processor but it came together nicely. Very easy to work with, thanks again!

  10. Laura

    This was the first pie crust recipe that actually worked for me! The directions were great and it came out perfect. I’m so happy to not have to pay $5 for premade pie crusts now!

Leave a comment