What’s for Supper?

So here’s the promised update… Buttermilk Baked Chicken.

I pretty much never make a recipe the way it reads.  In this case, I didn’t have buttermilk so I used regular milk.  I also used dried breadcrumbs instead of fresh.  In addition, I changed some other ingredients as I saw fit.  I got the idea from one of my new favorite cooking shows, Everyday Food, which is on PBS on weekends. If you want to see their version of the recipe, look for it here.

My version of (Butter)milk Baked Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 skinless bone-in chicken breasts (I had to pull off the skin)
  • black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp olive oil

Mix milk, garlic, honey and pepper.  Marinade chicken breasts in refridgerator for 1-2 hours, depending on how much time you have.  When ready to bake, preheat oven to 425 F.  Mix breadcrumbs and olive oil (which will help them brown).  Remove chicken from marinade, top with breadcrumbs, and bake 30-40 minutes until cooked through.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Recipes, What's for Supper?

One response to “What’s for Supper?

  1. Ab,

    How did you get to be such a great cook? I know it’s NOT hereditary! Does Ed know just how LUCKY his is?

Leave a comment