Spicy Squash Soup with Kielbasa and Corn

The combination of the rainy day today and my little injury made me want soup.  I’ve been wanting to try making butternut squash soup, and since I had some kielbasa in the fridge, I came up with this recipe.  It’s spicy and creamy, and made from ingredients that I had on hand.

  • 8 oz. kielbasa, cut into small cubes
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 quart stock (I had turkey stock in the freezer, but use whatever you have)
  • 1 cup pureed roasted butternut squash or other winter squash or pumpkin
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn kernals
  • 1 tsp dried or 1 Tbsp fresh herbs (thyme, parsley, sage or rosemary are nice)
  • red pepper flakes, to taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup half and half

In a large Dutch oven, brown the kielbasa.  Add the onions and garlic, and saute until transparent.  Deglaze the pan with the apple cider vinegar.  Add the stock and bring it up to a simmer, then stir in the squash and corn kernals.  Add seasonings.  Simmer for about 20 minutes, then stir in the half and half and heat through.  Serve with crusty bread.

Next time I make this, I think I’m going to try it with chorizo to give it a pretty red color and even more spice.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living

One response to “Spicy Squash Soup with Kielbasa and Corn

  1. I can attest to the creamy, spicy, deliciousness of this soup firsthand as I had the opportunity to taste it as I was checking in on Abbie’s injured knee! Yum, yum!!!

    Take it easy, Ab, and take care and I hope you’re feeling better very soon!

    Love,
    Mom

Leave a comment