Apple Crisp

While I won’t have time to make this week “Apple Week,” I do feel that my most favorite of fruits deserves some time to shine.  We’re busy with school, more school, home projects and also with getting our displays and entries ready for the Guilford Fair.  I personally am planning to enter my butternut squash pie, an apple pie, a pint of applesauce and the apron that I made over the winter.  My family is entering some apples, maple syrup and a farm display, which we have decided to theme “Go Green – Eat Local!” My dad and brothers are also entering their newly restored antique tractor.  Don’t worry, pictures are sure to follow!  So here’s a little tribute to the apple.  I’ll be posting the best of my apple recipes in the coming weeks.

My absolute favorite thing to bake in the fall is apple crisp.  I love butternut squash pie, pumpkin pie, apple pie, and quick breads like applesauce nut and pumpkin, but nothing compares to how much I love to bake apple crisp.  It is so easy to throw a crisp together, much easier and less time consuming than making a pie crust.  I don’t typically measure anything when I make apple crisp, and had to stop and measure (sort of) as I made it this time so I could post the recipe.  While the apple crisp is baking, the whole house smells like home: warm, cinnamony and delicious.

My recipe is for a small crisp for the two of us, which will give about four servings.  If you want to make a bigger one, double this recipe.

  • 4 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced thinly (tart, fresh apples are best)
  • 1/2 stick cold butter, cubed
  • 8 Tbsp flour
  • 6 Tbsp brown sugar (you can use white sugar in a pinch)
  • large dash of cinnamon (I refuse to pop off the little plastic top just so I can measure.  It makes a mess!)

Layer the apples in the bottom of a pie dish.  Combine remaining ingredients in a bowl and smush them together with your fingers.  Top the apples with the crisp mixture.  Bake at 350 for about an hour, until the topping is nicely browned and the apples start to bubble.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: There is nothing worse than crispy apples in a crisp/crumble/pie.  It is my biggest pet peeve.  There’s nothing worse than expecting a nice soft apple and biting into one that’s practically raw.  Be patient and leave it in the oven until it’s done!

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

5 responses to “Apple Crisp

  1. Oh I couldn’t agree more! Apple crisps are THE best. I’ve got oodles of apples and it’s so easy to throw together a crisp. My youngest is asking for pies but honestly too much work. 😉

  2. I canned about 7 quarts of apple pie filling and used 1 jar for a crumble with oatmeal topping and 1 for a crisp with the flour topping similar to yours. The crisp was preferred, although my middle child asked if it was possible to make it with everything but the apples! I’ll try your recipe next time so my kids can tell me how much better yours is again;-)

  3. I just love Apple Crisp and really do agree with you on the smell in the house… way better than any of those candle companies can manufacture… yes, even Glade!

  4. My husband’s farming relatives used to let us glean their trees every fall, and I was so swamped with apples that I made apple crisp pretty much every day for several weeks (along with applesauce, pies, etc.). I love the smell!! We used to have it for breakfast, believe it or not.

  5. farmersdaughterct

    GB- I’m making pies tonight and tomorrow to enter in the fair. It’ll be my first apple pie since last year!

    IBMommy- Do you have a recipe for the canned pie filling? I’d like to try it.

    Laura- I agree! Fossil fuels with a hint of apple just can’t compare to the real thing!

    Joyce- We love apple crisp for breakfast too, especially on the weekend!

Leave a comment