Canning Applesauce

Unlike the sweet jams and preserves, applesauce is something that I can without using any sugar.  I love that it’s tart, just like the apples.  I add lots of cinnamon, but you could leave it out.  Serve this with pork, roast chicken, by itself, or use it to make applesauce nut bread.

Chunky Cinnamon Applesauce (Unsweetened)

  1. Sterilize jars and lids.
  2. Make applesauce by peeling and cutting up apples, then cooking with cinnamon and just enough water to keep it from scorching.  I don’t measure when making applesauce, just make what I have.  It’s a little difficult to figure out how many jars to use, but this time I guessed 6 pints and it turned out to be 7, so there was one for the fridge.
  3. Ladel into hot jars, screw on lids and process for 15 minutes in a boiling water bath. 

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living

6 responses to “Canning Applesauce

  1. That looks delicious! I like my applesauce without sugar too.

  2. farmersdaughterct

    Heather- When we make it without sugar, it’s so much healthier! I also think it’s better for baking.

  3. Hayley

    I know that not everyone enjoys the tartness of applesauce (a few of us do) : )
    But for those who like it sweet you can use fructose which is very sweet!!!!!! So you would use 1/3 cup instead of 1 cup. This equivalent will make it just like using refined sugar. Fructose is a natural sweetener that is extremely good for you!

  4. rutheh

    REAL applesauce reminds me of my grandmother Mary Alta.
    But check out my photo-of-the-day with some storebought!
    Enjoyed your blog.
    rutheh.wordpress.com

  5. Samantha

    I have an issue with canning applesauce, I love love to make my own applesauce I don’t add anything but cinnamon. However every year I’ve tried to can it it puffs through the top when I have it processing and it makes a huge mess. I process for the right amount of time and I leave the correct amount of headspace and when they go into the hot water bath the lids are secured. I got so frustrated I froze applesauce last year, but I found we didn’t use it as often, canned goods are so much easier to use for our family. Do you have any solution to this? (As to why to applesauce would bubble up and push right through the lid?) Thanks 🙂

    • I’ve only had that happen in a pressure cooker. Thoughts:
      -Did you tighten the ring enough/too much?
      -Are you at sea level? If mot, did you adjust?
      -Is the applesauce already boiling/bubbling when you put it in the jars? If not, it’ll expand.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a comment