Chicken Pot Pie

snow-day-and-gingerbread-cookies-018

Chicken Pot Pie is one great way to use cooked chicken from making homemade chicken stock.  I grew up attending the “Chicken Pie Supper” at our Congregational Church with my parents, brothers and great-grandmother.  They always had it around my birthday in March, so I’ve come to equate chicken pie with my birthday.  At the church suppers, the chicken pie was all meat, no vegetables, and served with mashed potatoes, gravy, and vegetables.  The dessert was a choice of apple pie or lemon meringue, and we always complained that my great-grandma’s lemon meringue was the first pie to go and we never got a piece of it!

This recipe has vegetables in it, but feel free to leave them out or substitute as you wish.  Chicken Pot Pie is a great comfort food.  I made this one during our last big snowstorm.  It’s a big process to make the stock and the pie on the same day, but it’s worth it.

Chicken Pot Pie

  • 1 whole chicken, cooked, meat removed from the bones and shredded (you may not need all of it)
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup green beans in small pieces
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pie dough for a 2-crust pie

Boil carrots until softened.  Add the green beans to the boiling water for the last minute or so.  Drain and combine with the chicken meat.  To make the gravy in the pie, melt butter in a large skillet and add onion, season with salt and pepper.  Saute until softened, then add flour.  Add chicken stock and simmer until thickened.  Line a pie pan with the bottom crust.  Fill with chicken and vegetable mixture, then top with gravy.  Arrange top crust, flute the edges and cut a hole in the middle to vent.  I like to cut a design, usually wheat, in the crust, too.  Bake at 350°F for 1 hour, until crust is golden brown.

snow-day-and-gingerbread-cookies-019

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

7 responses to “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Aunt Sara

    Abbie,
    Do you use the same pie crust mix for the chicken pie as you do fruit pies? It looks delicious!

  2. I must confess… I used store-bought pie crust! The same crust that you would use for fruit pies is fine for chicken pie.

  3. Nothing wrong with store bought crusts- I noticed no peas? I would rather have peas than beans in my pot pie- Anyway thanks for sharing the recipe!

  4. Your brothers raved about the leftover chicken pot pie they enjoyed with Ed! Funny, they don’t eat “leftovers” at home!

  5. Aunt Sara

    Thanks, Abbie. I may try the chicken pie for supper some night soon.

  6. My mom always made it with biscuits on top rather than pie crust. I think it was just easier and faster to use canned biscuit dough to make a big 13×9″ pan of it to feed a hungry family. I don’t know how she kept us fed when we were young. In the summer, we had four (4!) hours of swimming practice a day and could eat a ton of food to replace the calories!

  7. Blind Baker

    Wow, this sounds delicious. Going to try it on my family. Is it okay to use canned chicken broth? I’ve never made chicken stock before.

Leave a Reply

