Eggs in a Nest

This is one of the easiest breakfasts to make on a Saturday morning, and it jazzes up the same old eggs and toast.  Here’s all you need:

  • sliced sandwich bread
  • eggs
  • butter
  • salt and pepper

eggs-in-a-nest-009

Cut holes in the center of your bread with a biscuit cutter or a glass turned upside-down.  Make two holes if you want to make two eggs per nest, as Ed likes, or one hole for one egg, as I prefer (not shown).

eggs-in-a-nest-016

Melt a pat of butter in a large pan, then place the bread in it.  Crack the eggs directly into the holes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Let cook until the whites begin to turn opaque.

eggs-in-a-nest-018

Flip and cook to your desired done-ness.  Ed likes them runny, so I only leave them on for a little while longer.  I like my eggs cooked through, so I break the yolks before flipping and leave them in longer.

eggs-in-a-nest-022

Look at that bright orange yolk!

18 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes, Sustainable Living

18 responses to “Eggs in a Nest

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who likes my yolks fully cooked and swirled around.

    My boyfriend makes this dish all the time (well…it’s the only thing he can make), and he always rolls his eyes when I request a fully cooked yolk, please!

  2. leisa

    lol, i made this for the first time this morning… and blogged about it today too… great chefs cook alike!🙂
    http://gardeninginheels.wordpress.com/2009/05/03/the-best-way-to-cook-eggs-ever/

  3. How cute! I’ll definitely being trying this. Maybe next weekend…

  4. That’s so funny. A friend made these for his kids a few years ago when we went on a family ski trip. Just yesterday, I was wondering how he made these so that I can use up some of the pastured eggs that I’ve been greedily gobbling up at the farmers’ market.

  5. woowoomama

    i also like fully cooked yolks! we ate these growing up and i still make them but we call them “texas one eyes.” i have no idea where that name came from! i like “eggs in a nest” better i think.

  6. Back to say that I made this for the boys this morning. They loved it!

  7. This was my favorite breakfast as a child. Thanks for the memories.~~Dee

  8. These look so delicious and neat too. I haven’t been broadcasting this, but I’ve been cooking for my family lately and I think I just may make this one for dinner one night; it just looks fun,🙂

  9. Rob

    This is one of my tope ten breakfasts! I love it so much I quite often have them for dinner. I usually just tear the hole though. Ever seen “Moonstruck”? Notice Olympia dukakis making the same thing with a few pepers added. Good Noms

  10. Glad to hear everyone likes these as much as we do!

  11. Haven’t thought of these in a coon’s age. But it is in my mind now and you can bet soon to be on my table. Thanks for the push in the right direction.

  12. Nate

    Ab, what do you do with the center peices of bread… seems wastefull

  13. I think im the odd one out when it comes to this dish, but i like to spread a thin layer of jam on top, then toast and lightly butter the centers and place on top of that.

  14. Was it Pioneer Woman who also had posted this a short while ago? I made them for my husband and have fun doing so. He loved it!

  15. One of my favorite breakfasts!

  16. Janice

    I have been eating eggs like this since, forever. I also grill the bread that I poke out because I have to have something to dip in the yplk.

Leave a Reply

