Baked BBQ Chicken Legs

bbq chicken 005

These chicken legs are so good, thanks to being repeatedly brushed with BBQ sauce.  I am aware that this is not true barbecue, but I’m from New England so it’s as close as I get.  The legs develop a nice thick layer of sauce over the skin, or you can remove the skin and brush the sauce right onto the meat.  I like to make some with and some without skin, so everyone has what they like.  That way, you don’t miss out on the sauce if you prefer to eat the chicken without skin.  In addition to being tasty and a perfect summertime food, legs are very affordable.  Adjust the proportions accordingly for how ever many people you plan to serve.  I plan on about 2-3 legs per person, but plan on more if you have big eaters.

  • 10 chicken legs
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Place chicken on a baking pan, lining it with parchment paper or foil if you wish.  Bake for 20 minutes without any sauce, then bake for 25 more minutes, stopping every 5 minutes to brush on more BBQ sauce.  Serve hot.

bbq chicken 008

You probably don’t want to use your nice cloth napkins when you serve these chicken legs for supper.

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes, What's for Supper?

7 responses to “Baked BBQ Chicken Legs

  1. Who says they aint real bbq? Some shitkicker from texas? They look real to me and Real Tasty too I reckon

  2. Sharon

    I’m trying this recipe now cause the picture looks sooooooo good!

  3. Melissa

    Just tried this recipe. Followed exactly what it said and it came out wonderful. Juicy, and tender and exactly what you would expect BBQ Chicken to be. It was a tasty recipe that I will make over and over again. The family loved it! Thanks

  4. Terry

    Very good!!!!!!

  5. kat

    i was looking for some bbq chicken to bake and i found your website, im actually making the chicken legs right now and its my second time, i loved it!!!!! and i had to have it again!, thanks

Leave a comment