July Challenge Update

With the end of July right around the corner (can you believe it!), I’m taking some time to update how I’ve been doing with my gardening challenges.

independancedays20091    seed2seed_challenge_200x

Plant:

  • succession lettuce 

Harvest:

  • lettuce, scallions, dill, parsley, chives, sage, thyme, snap peas, green beans, cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, potatoes 
  • wild wineberries

Preserve:

  • frozen: peas, carrots

Reduce Waste:

  • continue to carry water bottle, reusable bags, reusable containers, cloth napkins, etc.
  • compost

Preparation and Storage:

  • planning the fall garden
  • stored potatoes

Build Community Food Systems:

  • watched and reviewed Food, Inc.
  • visit local farmers’ markets
  • of course, visit my family’s farm market for anything I can
  • Ed continues to help at his brother’s aquaculture business

Eat the Food:

How’s your garden growing?

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “July Challenge Update

  1. *aja

    Wow! Go you! Are you really harvesting tomatoes? Ours look so very sad.

    Thanks for the reply about the hay – the Dudley farm may indeed have some hay, though maybe not enough. I have a few leads though, I am happy to buy it from somewhere and then donate it back too!

  2. WOW! You’re way too impressive to me!!!!

Leave a comment